The Hits Collection, Vol. 1

The Hits Collection, Vol. 1

by Jay-ZJay-Z


$16.66 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.66, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


"Hits," for the sake of this 2010 anthology, tends to refer to crossover singles, which might explain why it pays no attention to Jay-Z's first two albums, Reasonable Doubt and In My Lifetime, Vol. 1. The emphasis is on his pop-leaning singles that reached the Top 20 of the Billboard Hot 100, beginning with 1998's "Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem)" and concluding with 2009's "Empire State of Mind." It doesn't include every Top 20 hit -- neither "Excuse Me Miss" nor "Young Forever" appear -- and not every selection qualifies as a hit. For instance, the Black Album tracks "Public Service Announcement" and "Encore" weren't even issued as singles, though the latter might be the stand-in for the Linkin Park collaboration "Numb/Encore," which did hit the Top 20. Regardless, this is a decent overview, but it's far from definitive and more a celebration of the man's popularity, while also serving as a tie-in with Decoded, his memoir. The Hits Collection, Vol. 1 is lavishly packaged, containing a 32-page booklet of black-and-white photos. This might be the first time that a track list has used asterisks for the sake of denoting Grammy winners.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/22/2010
Label: Def Jam
UPC: 0602527231600
catalogNumber: 001362102
Rank: 6954

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jay-Z   Primary Artist
Bashiri Johnson   Percussion
Ira McLaughlin   Vocals
Mario Winans   Drums
Pharrell Williams   Vocals
Beyoncé   Vocals
Kanye West   Vocals
Lamar Edwards   Hammond B3
J. Smith   Drums,Keyboards
Ed Goldson   Bass,Guitar
Don Crawley   Vocals
Larrance Dopson   Piano
John Legend   Vocals
Sparks   Vocals
Cassie   Vocals
Keyon Harrold   Trumpet
Leonard Harris   Vocals
Kenneth "Bam" Alexander   Drums
Saunders Sermons   Trombone
Cameron Johnson   Trumpet
Kenneth Whalum   Tenor Saxophone
Eric "E-Bass" Johnson   Various
Demme Ulloa   Background Vocals
Chuce 1500   Bass

Technical Credits

Prince   Composer
L.A. Reid   Executive Producer
Rick Rubin   Composer,Producer
45 King   Producer
Ken "Duro" Ifill   Engineer
Jay-Z   Liner Notes,Executive Producer
Sean "Puffy" Combs   Producer
Jimmy Douglas   Engineer
Andrew Scheps   Engineer
Timbaland   Producer
Nichell Delvaille   Photo Coordination
Chauncey Mahan   Engineer
Pharrell Williams   Composer,Producer
Tracy Marrow   Composer
Shawn Carter   Composer
Janet Sewell   Composer,Producer
Ann Mincieli   Engineer
Neptunes   Producer
Kanye West   Composer,Producer
Chad Hugo   Composer,Producer
Sean C.   Producer
Chris Atlas   Marketing
J. Smith   Producer
Michael Seltzer   Music Business Affairs
Gimel Keaton   Engineer
Ryan West   Engineer
Janko Nilovic   Composer
Alicia Keys   Composer
Tupac Shakur   Composer
Demacio Castellon   Engineer
Eric Weissman   Sample Clearance
Jason Lader   Programming
Terese Joseph   Administration
Angela Hunte   Composer,Producer
John Meneilly   Management
Jeff Bhasker   Composer
Patrick Hegarty   Art Direction
Carol Corless   Package Production
Steve "Rock Star" Dickey   Engineer
Todd Russell   Art Direction
Alex Haldi   Art Direction
Marcos Tovar   Engineer
Antoinette Trotman   Music Business Affairs
Kristen Yiengst   Photo Coordination
LV   Producer
Kamel Abdo   Engineer
Kenneth Whalum   Arranger
Demacio "Demo" Castellon   Engineer
D. Harper   Composer
JP Robinson   Art Direction
E. Wilson   Composer
Elliott Wilson   Liner Notes
David Brown   Engineer
Ian Allen   Engineer,Music Business Affairs
Alphonso Henderson   Composer
Shux   Producer
Vol Davis   Music Business Affairs
Jennifer Justice   Legal Counsel
Shane Woodley   Engineer
Dave Sucky   Composer
Chaka Pilgrim   Marketing
Victor Abjaoudi   Engineer
Paul Falcon   Engineer
No Id   Producer

Customer Reviews