The Hunchback of Notre Dame [Studio Cast Recording]

The Hunchback of Notre Dame [Studio Cast Recording]

by Original Broadway CastOriginal Studio Cast


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


From the Disney stage musical based on the studio's 1996 animated film, The Hunchback of Notre Dame [Studio Cast Recording] captures performances by select cast members of both the 2014 La Jolla Playhouse (California) and 2015 Paper Mill Playhouse (New Jersey) productions of the show, as well as new talent, all brought together in the studio in the fall of 2015. (The musical closed on April 6, 2015 without moving to Broadway.) While the stage musical was short on memorable standout tunes, especially compared to the best of the vast Disney canon, the music was hardly weak, reteaming legendary Disney composer Alan Menken (The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast) and esteemed Broadway songwriter Stephen Schwartz (Pippin, Godspell, Wicked), who together had written the songs for the source film. Menken additionally wrote the film's score. The show used most of these existing songs plus original tunes written exclusively for the stage. The studio recording's dynamic performances feature Disney-quality talent, including Michael Arden (TV's Anger Management, Broadway's Big River) as Quasimodo and Ciara Renée (TV's The Flash, Broadway's Big Fish) as Esmeralda, as well as a 25-piece orchestra and even larger choir. If Disney's popularity was in any doubt as reflected in the decision to close the show -- which had also essentially restored the Victor Hugo ending -- in a rare occurrence for a non-Broadway cast recording, the album debuted at number one on Billboard's Cast Albums chart upon release (ending 17 consecutive weeks by Hamilton: An American Musical) and in the Top 50 of the Billboard 200.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/22/2016
Label: Ghostlight
UPC: 0791558148220
catalogNumber: 81482
Rank: 4098

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Original Cast Recording   Primary Artist
Diane Barere   Cello
Bruce Bonvissuto   Trombone,Euphonium
Tony Kadleck   Trumpet
Mineko Yajima   Violin
Richard Brice   Viola
David Blinn   Viola
Maura Giannini   Violin
Charles Pillow   Woodwind
Belinda Whitney   Violin
Steve Kenyon   Woodwind
Devin Provenzano   Vocals
Roger Shell   Cello
Lisa Matricardi   Violin
Robin Zeh   Violin
Richard Sarpola   Bass (Vocal)
Tony Quinn   Vocals
Shelly Holland-Moritz   Viola
William Michals   Vocals
James De La Garza   Trumpet
Sean Carney   Violin
Andrew Samonsky   Vocals
Michael Arden   Vocals
Emily Moore   Vocals
Mairi Dorman Phaneuf   Cello
Kristina Musser   Violin
Brent Alan Huffman   Conductor
Don Downs   Trumpet
Randy Cohen   Synthesizer
Neal Mayer   Vocals
Laura Inman   Vocals
Alan M-L Wager   Vocals
Judy Lee   French Horn
Vincent III Rodriguez   Vocals
Erik Liberman   Vocals
Danny Taylor   Percussion,Drums
Annbritt duChateau   Keyboards
Karen Elliott   Vocals
Richard Ruiz   Vocals
Amy Hamilton-Soto   Violin
Maggie Boland   Vocals
Ian Gibbs   Vocals
Patrick Page   Vocals
Christoph Franzgrote   Violin
Clinton Curtis   Vocals
Ian Patrick Gibb   Vocals
Joseph Simeone   Vocals
Ciara Renée   Vocals
Brian Cali   Vocals
Beth Kirkpatrick   Vocals
Ben Bartels   Vocals
Anise Ritchie   Vocals
Angie Marie Smith   Vocals
Allison Linker   Vocals
Samantha Massell   Vocals
René Atchison   Vocals
Nora Menken   Vocals
Michelle Rombola   Vocals
Matt Rickmeier   Vocals
Mark Thraser   Woodwind
Lyssandra Stephenson   Vocals
Kristin Roney   Vocals
Kenny Martinez   Vocals
Keith Snode   Vocals
Jeremy Stolle   Vocals
Jacob Christopher   Vocals
Erik Malmquist   Vocals
Elizabeth Eschen   Vocals
Dashaun Young   Vocals
Colleen McCormack   Vocals
Caleb Hoyer   Keyboards,Vocals
Britt Bonney   Vocals

Technical Credits

Alan Menken   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Chris Montan   Producer
Michael Starobin   Orchestration
Larry Blank   Orchestration
Michael Kosarin   Arranger,Producer
Lawrence Manchester   Engineer
Rob Berman   Arranger
Stephen Schwartz   Producer,Text
Isaiah Abolin   Engineer
Kurt Deutsch   Executive Producer
Brent Alan Huffman   Music Direction
Randy Cohen   drum programming
Thomas Schumacher   Liner Notes
Aki Nishimura   Pro-Tools
Peter Parnell   Book

Customer Reviews