The In Crowd

The In Crowd

by Ramsey LewisRamsey Lewis

CD(Remastered / Restored / Digi-Pak / Reissue)

$12.99 View All Available Formats & Editions


Ramsey Lewis staked his claim to fame with The In Crowd, an instrumental version of Dobie Gray's Top 40 hit. He also was one of the first soul jazz icons of the mid-'60s, based on the strength of the sales of this recording, done over three days during a club date at the Bohemian Caverns in Washington, D.C. What is not readily acknowledged over the years is that bassist Eldee Young is really the star of the show. He's the one who gets the crowd revved up with his vocalizing in tandem with the notes he is playing. It's on his Ray Charles-like take on "Tennessee Waltz" and a similar treatment of Gale Garnett's minor pop hit "You Been Talkin' 'Bout Me Baby" that gets the patrons off. Of course the quintessential hip shakin' introductory title track gets the groove in motion, but it's Young that lights the fuse. His stellar work with drummer Redd Holt bolsters the style of Lewis, and takes it further for the upbeat bossa "Felicidade." Of course, Lewis is the bluesy centerpiece on "Since I Fell for You," another cover of a pop hit that at the time Lenny Welch did so well. The variant is the dramatic "Theme from Spartacus," which has an up-and-down dynamic more suited for a concert hall than a smoky nightclub. This is the moment where Lewis shined the brightest, the "in crowd" at the club was verbally into it, and the time for this music was right.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/09/2007
Label: Verve
UPC: 0602517448247
catalogNumber: 000978702

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ramsey Lewis   Primary Artist,Piano,Keyboards,Track Performer
Eldee Young   Bass,Cello
Redd Holt   Drums
Ramsey Lewis Trio   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Vinícius de Moraes   Composer
Buddy Johnson   Composer
Pee Wee King   Composer
Gale Garnett   Composer
Redd Stewart   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Esmond Edwards   Producer
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Alex North   Composer
Billy Page   Composer
Barry Alfonso   Liner Notes
Clarke   Liner Notes
Hollis King   Art Direction
Ray Rivers   Composer

Customer Reviews