The Infinite Desire

The Infinite Desire

by Al Di MeolaAl Di Meola


$11.67 $11.99 Save 3% Current price is $11.67, Original price is $11.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


With the help of new generations of guitar synthesizers and samplers, The Infinite Desire finds a mature, lyrical, more expressive Al di Meola casting his lot with Telarc, which until the late '90s had concentrated its attentions upon aging acoustic jazzers. Indeed, he makes marvelously musical use of the new devices, creating sensuous, exotic layers of sound that lie easily upon the ear, without much of the usual harshness of digital instruments generated by those who haven't bothered to master them. "Shaking the Spirits" in particular is a fascinating piece, loaded with dazzling Middle Eastern and African colorations, and the sampled trumpet sound he gets on "Valentina" is astoundingly lifelike. Also, di Meola's playing became more unabashedly fluid in the '90s; on the closest thing to a straight-ahead track, "Invention of the Monsters," di Meola's electric guitar curls intricately and swingingly around the bass of Tom Kennedy, Ernie Adams' drums, and some synthesized brass. Di Meola's co-conspirators change from track to track, although two who figure a lot in the sound and package are keyboardist Rachel Z (a former di Meola sidewoman) and bassist John Patitucci. Also check out Herbie Hancock on acoustic grand and Peter Erskine's drums on "Istanbul," and di Meola's fairly good-natured duel with rock guitarist Steve Vai on "Race with Devil on Turkish Highway."

Product Details

Release Date: 08/25/1998
Label: Telarc
UPC: 0089408343322
catalogNumber: 83433
Rank: 106291

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Di Meola   Primary Artist,Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Trumpet,Accordion,Cymbals,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Tamboura,Fretless Bass Guitar
Steve Vai   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Peter Erskine   Drums
Herbie Hancock   Piano
John Patitucci   Bass,Electric Bass,Acoustic Bass
Rachel Z   Piano,Keyboards
Ernie Adams   Drums
Tom Kennedy   Acoustic Bass
Gumbi Ortiz   Percussion,Conga
Mario Parmisano   Keyboards
Abraham Wechter   Guitar
Pino Daniele   Vocals

Technical Credits

Rachel Z   Programming,Sound Design
Di Meola   Arranger,Producer
Frank Filipetti   Engineer
Goh Hotoda   Engineer
Hernan Romero   Producer
Robert Woods   Executive Producer
Bill Milkowski   Liner Notes
Anilda Carrasquillo   Art Direction
Spyros Poulos   Programming,Engineer,Sound Design

Customer Reviews