The John R.T. Davies Collection: Vol. 1: Jazz Classics

The John R.T. Davies Collection: Vol. 1: Jazz Classics

by John R.T. DaviesJohn R.T. Davies


1 New & Used Starting at $18.05


JSP's Jazz Classics, Vol. 1 compiles four CDs with 100 tracks containing a mixture of both rare and classic jazz that was remastered for the British label by sound engineer extraordinaire John R.T. Davies. Along with the four featured artists on this set -- Louis Prima, Ted Lewis, Joe Venuti and George Wettling -- the ensemble players include an abundance of superlative musicians including Pee Wee Russell, Jimmy Dorsey, Tommy Dorsey, Bud Freeman and Jonah Jones. As always, the material sounds great and the liner notes are informative, listing personnel, dates, and concise history. Since this is a budget-priced set, it is highly recommended for both the jazz novice and collector.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/24/2007
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065904029
catalogNumber: 940


Disc 1

  1. That's Where the South Begins
  2. Jamaica Shout
  3. Long About Midnight
  4. Star Dust
  5. Sing It Way Down Low
  6. Sing It Way Down Low
  7. Let's Have a Jubilee
  8. I Still Want You
  9. (Looks Like) I'm Breaking the Ice
  10. Sing It Way Down Low
  11. Let's Have a Jubilee
  12. House Rent Party Day
  13. It's the Rhythm in Me
  14. Worry Blues
  15. Bright Eyes
  16. Put on an Old Pair of Shoes
  17. Sugar Is Sweet and So Are You
  18. I'm Livin in a Great Big Way
  19. Swing Me With Rhythm
  20. The Lady in Red
  21. Chinatown, My Chinatown
  22. Chasing Shadows
  23. Basin Street Blues
  24. In a Little Gypsy Tea Room
  25. Let's Swing It

Disc 2

  1. Start the Band
  2. Oh Baby!
  3. Hello Montreal!
  4. A Good Man Is Hard to Find
  5. I Ain't Got Nobody
  6. A Jazz Holiday
  7. Jungle Blues
  8. Shim-Me-Sha-Wobble
  9. Clarinet Marmalade
  10. My Little Dream Boat
  11. She's Funny That Way
  12. Allah's Holiday
  13. Limehouse Blues
  14. Glad Rag Doll
  15. Roses of Picardy
  16. Russian Lullaby
  17. I'm the Medicine Man For the Blues
  18. Maybe - Who Knows?
  19. In the Land of Jazz
  20. Lewisada Blues
  21. Lewisada Blues
  22. Farewell Blues
  23. Wabash Blues

Disc 3

  1. I Must Be Dreaming
  2. Tain't So Honey, 'Tain't So
  3. Because My Baby Don't Mean Maybe Now
  4. Just Like a Melody Out of a Sky
  5. Pickin' Cotton
  6. I'm on the Crest of a Wave
  7. Doin' Things
  8. I Must Have That Man
  9. That's the Good Old Sunny South
  10. Weary River
  11. I'm in Seventh Heaven
  12. Little Pal
  13. Chant of the Jungle
  14. That Wonderful Something (Is Love)
  15. Promises: Take C
  16. Dancing With Tears in My Eyes: Take A
  17. I'm Only Human After All
  18. Out of Breath and Scared to Death of You
  19. Promises: Take B
  20. Dancing With Tears in My Eyes: Take C
  21. You're My Past Present and Future
  22. I Want to Ring Bells
  23. Doin' the Uptown Lowdown
  24. Gather Lip Rouge While You May

Disc 4

  1. Moon Glow
  2. Cheese and Crackers
  3. Wasting My Love on You
  4. My Man From Caroline
  5. I Like a Little Gin Like That
  6. FiddleSticks: Take 1
  7. FiddleSticks: Take 2
  8. Everybody Shuffle
  9. Moon Glow
  10. Phantom Rhapsody
  11. Sugar
  12. Hanid
  13. Blue Room
  14. At Sundown
  15. It Ain't the Humidity (It's the Beat!)
  16. Body & Soul
  17. Is George Really George?
  18. Over the Rainbow
  19. Long, Long Ago
  20. Kettle Blues

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John R.T. Davies   Primary Artist
Louis Prima   Trumpet,Vocals
George Barnes   Guitar
Bud Freeman   Tenor Saxophone
Jonah Jones   Trumpet
Max Kaminsky   Trumpet
Pee Wee Russell   Clarinet
Muggsy Spanier   Cornet
Jack Teagarden   Trombone
Claude Thornhill   Piano
Joe Venuti   Piano,Violin
Ray Bauduc   Drums
Phil Napoleon   Trumpet
Frank Teschemacher   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
George Wettling   Drums
George Van Eps   Guitar
Sidney Arodin   Clarinet
Rube Bloom   Piano
Red Bone   Trombone
Arnold Brillhardt   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Georg Brunis   Trombone,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Jimmy Dorsey   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Tommy Dorsey   Trombone
Lennie Hayton   Piano,Celeste
Milt Hinton   Bass
Will Hudson   Announcer
Stan King   Drums
Manny Klein   Trumpet
Nappy Lamare   Guitar
Fud Livingston   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
John Lucas   Drums
Chauncey Morehouse   Drums,Vocals
Bill Rank   Trombone
Jack Ryan   String Bass
Arthur Schutt   Piano,Celeste
Artie Shapiro   String Bass
Frank Signorelli   Piano,Celeste
Frank Luther   Vocals
Charlie Butterfield   Trombone
Max Farley   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone
Garry McAdams   Guitar
Dick McDonough   Guitar
Frank Pinero   Piano
Joe Tarto   Drums,String Bass,Announcer
Fuzzy Farrar   Trumpet
Pete Pumiglio   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Larry Alpeter   Trombone
Harry Goldfield   Trumpet
Min Leibrook   Bass Saxophone
Andy Secrest   Trumpet
Sammy Shapiro   Violin
Smith Ballew   Violin,Vocals
Talmadge Lewis   Clarinet,C-Melody Saxophone,Vocals,Human Whistle
Harry Raderman   Trombone
Walter Kahn   Trumpet
Charlie Margulis   Trumpet
Alfie Evans   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Ray Lodwig   Trumpet
Herb Quigley   Drums,Vibes
Izzy Friedman   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Rube Crozier   Oboe,Tenor Saxophone
Leo McConville   Trumpet
Dave Klein   Trumpet
Joe Raymond   Violin
Bernie Daly   Tenor Saxophone
Frankie Ross   Piano
Pat Davies   Tenor Saxophone
Wallace Blumberry   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Sol Klein   Violin
Irene Beasley   Vocals

Technical Credits

Harry Barth   Brass Band
Joe Tarto   Brass Band
Hank Stern   Brass Band
Brian Peerless   Liner Notes
Charlie Crump   Liner Notes
Jim Godbolt   Liner Notes
Dave Bennett   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews