The Jubilee Shows, Vol. 10: Nos. 56 & 61

The Jubilee Shows, Vol. 10: Nos. 56 & 61

by Sister Rosetta TharpeSister Rosetta Tharpe


3 New & Used Starting at $5.00


The tenth CD in this series, as with its nine predecessors, has two complete Jubilee radio programs. With Ernest "Bubbles" Whitman as the MC (and showing off his ability to read jivey tongue twisters with ease and good humor), the shows, made for black servicemen who were mostly stationed overseas, are overflowing with talent. No. 56 has the obscure Noble Sissle Orchestra as the house band, being featured on "Skater's Waltz"; backing several singers; and showcasing its pianist, Harry Brooks, on "Blues in the Night." High points of the show are two numbers ("C Jam Blues" and "I Got Rhythm") featuring clarinetist Barney Bigard in a quintet with the Cootie Williams-influenced trumpeter Red Mack. Also featured along the way are singers Dorothy Webster, Edna Webster (who doubles on trumpet), Phil Moore (on his own "Shoo Shoo Baby," which is given a wistful treatment), and Sister Rosetta Tharpe, who is in excellent on "That's All." Show No. 61 has the Cee Pee Johnson Orchestra (a Los Angeles big band best known for its wartime radio broadcasts) in swinging form on "Sherman Shuffle," "Mop Mop," and "Swing Crazy." Also heard from are the Delta Rhythm Boys (a sappy version of "That Old Black Magic"), singer Timmie Rodgers ("Bring Enough Coffee for Three Days"), and singer/lyricist Johnny Mercer (on "G.I. Jive" and "Knock Me a Kiss"). This set is well worth picking up by swing fans, as are the other CDs in this valuable series.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/14/2005
Label: Storyville Records
UPC: 0717101101023
catalogNumber: 1010

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sister Rosetta Tharpe   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Phil Moore   Piano,Drums,Vocals,String Bass
Noble Sissle   Accompaniment
Barney Bigard   Clarinet
Teddy Buckner   Trumpet
Wendell Culley   Trumpet
Demas Dean   Trumpet
Rene Deknight   Piano,String Bass,Accompaniment
Karl George   Trumpet
Edward Hale   Alto Saxophone
Wilbert Kirk   Drums
Johnny Mercer   Vocals
Theodore Shirley   String Bass
Vernon Smith   Announcer
Rabon Tarrant   Drums
Ben Whitted   Alto Saxophone
Harry Lewis   Baritone (Vocal)
Harry Brooks   Piano
William Woodman   Tenor Saxophone
Edna Williams   Trumpet,Vocals
Chester Burrill   Trombone
Cee Pee Johnson   Tom-Tom,Vocals
Lee Gaines   Bass (Vocal)
Traverse Crawford   Tenor (Vocal)
Clinton Holland   Tenor (Vocal)
Ulysses "Buddy" Banks   Tenor Saxophone
Eugene Mikell   Alto Saxophone
Timmie Rodgers   Ukulele,Vocals
George Winfield   Trumpet
Herb Flemming   Trombone

Technical Credits

Emile Waldteufel   Composer
Phil Moore   Composer
Coleman Hawkins   Composer
Andy Razaf   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Mike Jackson   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Amos Easton   Composer
Scott Yanow   Liner Notes
Carl A. Hällström   Audio Production
Traditional   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews