The Legendary Prestige Quintet Sessions

The Legendary Prestige Quintet Sessions

by Miles Davis QuintetMiles Davis Quintet


$37.06 $38.99 Save 5% Current price is $37.06, Original price is $38.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


What you get on Legendary Prestige Quintet Sessions is a rather unwieldy four-disc box set containing the complete recordings of the Miles Davis Quintet with Red Garland, Paul Chambers, John Coltrane, and Philly Joe Jones recorded for Prestige, and remastered and repackaged according to chronology rather than release dates from the albums Miles, Workin', Relaxin', Steamin', Miles Davis and the Modern Jazz Giants, and Cookin'. The fourth disc contains radio and television appearances that have never been released before. The first four tracks are from The Tonight Show in 1955, with Steve Allen giving two different spoken intros that are fine to hear once, but a drag after that (and one wonders what Miles must have thought of them), and two quintet performances follow: "Max Is Making Wax (Chance It)" by Oscar Pettiford and the standard "It Never Entered My Mind." The six cuts are from different live shows, from radio broadcasts of live gigs at the Blue Note in Philadelphia in 1956 and the Café Bohemia in New York in 1958. There are two performances of "Walkin," one each of "Four," "Bye Bye Blackbird," and Dizzy Gillespie's "Two Bass Hit." In addition, the second portion of disc four is enhanced and contains Miles' solo transcriptions that are suitable for printing, two of "Tune Up" (the original version and one from the Blue Note gig), and "Four" (both the original studio version and one from Café Bohemia). There is also a transcription of the solo played during "Max Is Making Wax (Chance It)" from The Tonight Show. There is a booklet with a solid essay by Bob Blumenthal and it's full of groovy black-and-white photos. Miles freaks -- and trumpet players, perhaps -- will have to have this. But really, this is material designed to get you to buy the original recordings over again -- unless you're an an audiophile, it's rather difficult to discern the upgraded quality of sound, and seems rather pointless. The high marks are for the music, not the box set itself.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/02/2016
Label: Prestige
UPC: 0888072014220
catalogNumber: 00038


Disc 1

  1. Stablemates
  2. How Am I to Know?
  3. Just Squeeze Me
  4. There Is No Greater Love
  5. The Theme
  6. S'posin'
  7. In Your Own Sweet Way
  8. Diane
  9. Trane's Blues
  10. Something I Dreamed Last Night

Disc 2

  1. It Could Happen to You
  2. Woody'n You
  3. Ahmad's Blues
  4. The Surrey with the Fringe on Top
  5. It Never Entered My Mind
  6. When I Fall in Love
  7. Salt Peanuts
  8. Four
  9. The Theme
  10. The Theme
  11. If I Were a Bell
  12. Well You Needn't

Disc 3

  1. 'Round Midnight
  2. Half Nelson
  3. You're My Everything
  4. I Could Write a Book
  5. Oleo
  6. Airegin
  7. Tune Up
  8. When Lights Are Low
  9. Blues by Five
  10. My Funny Valentine

Disc 4

  1. Intro
  2. Max Is Making Wax (aka Chance It)
  3. Intro 2
  4. It Never Entered My Mind
  5. Tune Up
  6. Walkin'
  7. Four
  8. Bye Bye Blackbird
  9. Walkin'
  10. Two Bass Hit

Album Credits

Customer Reviews