The Love Song Collection

The Love Song Collection

by Chuck LoebChuck Loeb


$16.21 $18.99 Save 15% Current price is $16.21, Original price is $18.99. You Save 15%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


One of the most versatile of all East Coast contemporary jazz guitarists, Chuck Loeb was equally inspired to play screaming fusion as he was to write hip radio-ready smooth jazz hits and sweet candlelit gems. This nice collection definitely focuses on the latter, highlighting his low-key acoustic and electric playing on songs culled from his seven Shanachie releases from 1996-2005. Although the first two tracks, simple and lush renditions of the Babyface tunes "Water Runs Dry" and "Breathe Again," pale in comparison to thoughtful and soulful originals like "Blue Kiss" and "New Life" (which features labelmate saxman and song co-writer Kim Waters), they show that Loeb was ahead of the curve in smooth jazz; when the format went cover happy in the early \2000s, it was Kirk Whalum who did the first all-Babyface recording The Babyface Songbook. True to his adventurous musical sensibilities, Loeb doesn't totally play it safe when he's romantic. The chill tune "Stained Glass" (originally from eBop) is driven by otherworldly percussion textures and a slow burning swirl of electric guitar and Randy Becker's trumpet. By design, The Love Song Collection is not aimed to please fans of Loeb's wilder side, but it's a great reminder of his ability to compose beautiful melodies.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/16/2007
Label: Shanachie
UPC: 0016351514424
catalogNumber: 5144
Rank: 26466

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Chuck Loeb   Primary Artist,Guitar,Keyboards
Nelson Rangell   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Kim Waters   Soprano Saxophone
David Charles   Percussion
Randy Brecker   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Carl Carter   Bass
Lionel Cordew   Drums
Carmen Cuesta   Vocals
Zach Danziger   Drums
Mitchel Forman   Keyboards
Will Lee   Bass
Mike Pope   Acoustic Bass
Andy Snitzer   Soprano Saxophone
Jon Werking   Keyboards,Electric Piano
Wolfgang Haffner   Drums
Clifford Carter   Organ
Tim Lefebvre   Bass
Mike Ricchiuti   Piano,Keyboards
Brian Dunne   Cymbals,Drums,Tom-Tom,Hi Hat
Josh Dion   Percussion,Drums
David Andrew Mann   Tenor Saxophone
Ron Jenkins   Bass

Technical Credits

Kim Waters   Composer
Carmen Cuesta   Composer
Chuck Loeb   Composer,Producer,drum programming,Percussion Programming
Andy Snitzer   Composer
Babyface   Composer
Elizabeth Loeb   Composer
Christina Loeb   Composer
Sandrine Lee   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews