The Machine Stops, The Celestial Omnibus, and Other Stories

The Machine Stops, The Celestial Omnibus, and Other Stories

by E. M. Forster

Paperback(New Edition)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Machine Stops, The Celestial Omnibus, and Other Stories is a collection of short stories from E. M. Forster, who is perhaps best known for his novels Howards End and A Room with a View. Included in the collection is The Machine Stops, a science fiction story that predicted the internet, video conferencing, and instant messaging. Forster, who deplored science fiction, wrote the story in response to an optimistic depiction of the future by H. G. Wells. The story is one of the earliest examples of dystopian science fiction. Also included is The Story of a Panic, the first story Forster ever wrote.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781492980506
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 10/13/2013
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 182
Sales rank: 702,392
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.42(d)

About the Author

Born in London in 1879, E. M. Forster is the author of six novels: Where Angels Fear to Tread, The Longest Journey, A Room with a View, Howard’s End, A Passage to India, and Maurice, the last published posthumously. He also wrote a number short stories, in addition to criticism and essays. His books have been adapted into several popular movies. He was nominated for the Nobel Prize in Literature in 13 separate years. He died in 1970.

Date of Birth:

January 1, 1879

Date of Death:

June 7, 1970

Place of Birth:


Place of Death:

Coventry, England


B. A. in classics, King's College, Cambridge, 1900; B. A. in history, 1901; M.A., 1910

Customer Reviews