The Man in Black: 1963-1969

The Man in Black: 1963-1969

by Johnny CashJohnny Cash

CD(Box Set)

$174.59 $174.99 Save 0% Current price is $174.59, Original price is $174.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Man in Black: 1963-1969 is Bear Family's fourth box set of Johnny Cash recordings and the third in The Man in Black series. 1963-1969 picks up where the previous Man in Black box left off, in the beginning of the '60s, after Cash established himself as a hitmaker for Columbia. It collects all of the music Cash made for Columbia between 1963 and 1969, including outtakes and alternate versions but not the albums that were issued on the Come Along and Ride This Train set.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/17/1995
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127155887
catalogNumber: 15588
Rank: 92116


Disc 1

  1. Ring of Fire
  2. The Matador
  3. I'd Still Be There
  4. Still in Town
  5. El Matador
  6. Fuego d'Amor (Anillo de Fuego)
  7. My Old Faded Rose
  8. It Ain't Me Babe
  9. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
  10. One Too Many Mornings
  11. Mama, You Been on My Mind
  12. Long Black Veil
  13. The Wall
  14. Orange Blossom Special
  15. Troublesome Waters
  16. I Walk the Line
  17. Folsom Prison Blues
  18. Wreck of the Old '97
  19. Hey Porter
  20. Big River
  21. All of God's Children Ain't Free
  22. Amen
  23. When It's Springtime in Alaska (It's Forty Below)
  24. You Wild Colorado
  25. Danny Boy
  26. I Still Miss Someone
  27. Give My Love to Rose
  28. Goodbye Little Darlin' Goodbye

Disc 2

  1. Dark as a Dungeon
  2. Bottom of the Mountain
  3. Understand Your Man
  4. Time and Time Again
  5. I Still Miss Someone
  6. Hardin Wouldn't Run
  7. Mama, You Been on My Mind
  8. A Certain Kinda Hurtin'
  9. My Old Faded Rose
  10. How Did You Get Away from Me
  11. Bad News
  12. Cup of Coffee
  13. Dirty Old Egg Sucking Dog
  14. The One on the Right Is on the Left
  15. Concerning Your New Song
  16. The Bug That Tried to Crawl Around the World
  17. Flushed from the Bathroom of Your Heart
  18. Dirty Old Egg Sucking Dog
  19. Take Me Home
  20. The Song of the Coward
  21. Please Don't Play Red River Valley
  22. Foolish Questions
  23. The Singing Star's Queen
  24. Austin Prison
  25. Boa Constrictor
  26. Everybody Loves a Nut
  27. The Sound of Laughter
  28. Joe Bean

Disc 3

  1. The Frozen Logger
  2. (I'm Proud) The Baby Is Mine
  3. Happy to Be with You
  4. For Lovin' Me
  5. Wabash Cannonball
  6. Guess Things Happen That Way
  7. Happiness Is You
  8. Ancient History
  9. You Comb Her Hair
  10. A Wound Time Can't Erase
  11. Is This My Destiny?
  12. Jackson
  13. Pack up Your Sorrows
  14. Long Legged Guitar Pickin' Man
  15. Fast Boat to Sydney
  16. You'll Be All Right
  17. I Got a Woman
  18. What'd I Say
  19. Oh, What a Good Thing We Had
  20. No No No
  21. Shantytown
  22. What'd I Say
  23. Still in Town
  24. The Matador
  25. Wer Kennt Den Weg (I Walk The Line)
  26. In Virginia
  27. Kleine Rosmarie
  28. Besser So, Jenny-Jo
  29. Wer Kennt Den Weg (I Walk the Line)
  30. In Virginia
  31. Kleine Rosmarie
  32. Besser So, Jenny-Jo

Disc 4

  1. Thunderball
  2. The Sons of Katie Elder
  3. Put the Sugar to Bed
  4. Red Velvet
  5. Rosanna's Going Wild
  6. The Wind Changes
  7. On the Line
  8. Roll Call
  9. You Beat All I Ever Saw
  10. I Tremble for You
  11. Cattle Call
  12. Bill's Theme
  13. Outside Looking In
  14. Spanish Harlem
  15. The Folk Singer
  16. Southwind
  17. The Devil to Pay
  18. 'Cause I Love You
  19. See Ruby Fall
  20. Route No. 1, Box 144
  21. Sing a Traveling Song
  22. If I Were a Carpenter
  23. To Beat the Devil
  24. Blistered
  25. Wrinkled Crinkled Wadded Dollar Bill
  26. I've Got a Thing About Trains
  27. Six White Horses
  28. Jesus Was a Carpenter
  29. Man in Black

Disc 5

  1. The Christmas Spirit
  2. I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day
  3. Blue Christmas
  4. The Gifts They Gave
  5. Here Was a Man
  6. Christmas as I Knew It
  7. Silent Night
  8. The Little Drummer Boy
  9. It Came upon a Midnight Clear
  10. Ringing the Bells for Jim
  11. We Are the Shepherds
  12. Who Kept the Sheep
  13. Ballad of the Harp Weaver
  14. Wildwood Flower
  15. Engine 143
  16. Keep on the Sunny Side
  17. Single Girl, Married Girl
  18. The Banks of the Ohio
  19. My Clinch Mountain Home
  20. Lonesome Valley
  21. Worried Man Blues
  22. Wabash Cannonball
  23. Brown Hearted Lover
  24. Brown Eyes
  25. I'm Working on a Building
  26. Gathering Flowers from the Hillside
  27. When the Roses Bloom Again

Disc 6

  1. Big River
  2. Folsom Prison Blues
  3. I Still Miss Someone
  4. Rock Island Line
  5. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
  6. I Walk the Line
  7. The Ballad of Ira Hayes
  8. Keep on the Sunny Side

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Johnny Cash   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Floyd Cramer   Piano
Carl Perkins   Guitar
Jan Howard   Vocals
Lew DeWitt   Human Whistle
Anita Kerr   Organ
Don Helms   Steel Guitar
Grady Martin   Guitar
Anita Carter   Guitar
Mother Maybelle Carter   Guitar,Autoharp
Byron Bach   Cello
Brenton Banks   Viola
June Carter Cash   Autoharp,Vocals
Don Cassell   Viola
Marvin Chantry   Viola
Solie Fott   Violin
Marshall Grant   Bass
Roy M. "Junior" Husky   Bass
Luther Perkins   Guitar
Jerry Shook   Guitar
W.S. Holland   Drums
Howard Carpenter   Viola
Helen Carter   Guitar
Karl Garvin   Trumpet
Robert L. Johnson   Banjo,Guitar,Lute,12-string Guitar,Mandocello
Jerry Glenn Kennedy   Guitar
Harold E. Cruthirds   Cello
William K. McElhiney   Trumpet
Stephanie Woolf   Violin
Martin Kathan   Violin
Jerr Haynie   Violin
Charles E. Daniels   Fiddle,Guitar

Technical Credits

Norman Blake   Composer
Gene Autry   Composer
Carter Family   Vocal Group
Johnny Cash   Composer,Vocal Overdubs
Johnny Horton   Composer
Merle Travis   Composer
Woody Guthrie   Composer
Elmer Bernstein   Composer
Ray Charles   Composer
Bud Freeman   Composer
Bob Johnson   Composer
Fred Carter   Contributor
Rev. Louis Overstreet   Composer
J.E. Mainer   Composer
Anita Carter   Composer
Edna St. Vincent Millay   Composer
Harry Simeone   Composer
Mother Maybelle Carter   Composer
Johnny Western   Photo Illustration
Franz Gruber   Composer
John Barry   Composer
Statler Brothers   Vocal Group
A.P. Carter   Composer
Sara Carter   Composer
June Carter Cash   Composer
Katherine K. Davis   Composer
Colin Escott   Liner Notes
Harlan Howard   Composer
Bob Johnston   Producer
Frank Jones   Producer
Don Law   Producer
Huddie Ledbetter   Composer
Bill Mack   Composer
Henry Onorati   Composer
Ervin T. Rouse   Composer
Helen Carter   Composer
Tillman Franks   Composer
Merle Kilgore   Composer
Johnny Marvin   Composer
Bill Johnson   Composer
Jackson King   Composer
R.A. Andreas   Photo Illustration
Richard Weize   Liner Notes
Birgit Schneider   Artwork
Gerd Weiler   Artwork
Richard Storrs Willis   Composer
Joseph Mohr   Composer
Don McKinnon   Composer
Renald Richard   Composer
Leon Rusk   Composer
James Stevens   Composer
Irving Burgess   Composer
Dixie Deen   Composer
Gary Garett   Composer
Earl Sheldon   Composer
Jay Johnson   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Chris Wren   Composer
Léon Pober   Composer
Thelma Matesky Moore   Composer
Kurt Hertha   Composer
Frederick Edward Weatherly   Composer
E. H. Sears   Composer
J. Bowers   Composer
Bill Hayes   Composer

Customer Reviews