The Melody Ranch Girl

The Melody Ranch Girl

by Jean ShepardJean Shepard

CD(Box Set)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The five-disc box set The Melody Ranch Girl collects all 151 tracks that Jean Shepard recorded for Capitol Records between 1952 and 1964. Shepard's recordings for Capitol were undeniably her best -- by and large, this is fiery, passionate honky tonk. All of her hits from this era, from "A Dear John Letter" and "A Satisfied Mind" to "Beautiful Lies" and "Second Fiddle (To An Old Guitar)," are included, as are several rarities, outtakes, and complete albums, including Songs of a Love Affair, one of the first country concept albums. The set also includes a thorough discography and biography, as well as many rare photos. For casual fans, The Melody Ranch Girl is far too lengthy and detailed to be pleasurable listening, yet for dedicated followers, it's an essential purchase.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/12/1996
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127159052
catalogNumber: 15905
Rank: 191009


Disc 1

  1. Twice the Lovin' (In Half the Time)
  2. Crying Steel Guitar Waltz
  3. Keep It a Secret
  4. Nobody Else Can Love You Like I Do
  5. I'd Rather Die Young
  6. A Dear John Letter
  7. My Wedding Ring
  8. With All These Memories
  9. Forgive Me, John
  10. Why Did You Wait
  11. Why Did You Wait
  12. You'll Come Crawlin'
  13. The Mysteries of Life
  14. Let's Kiss and Try Again
  15. The Glass That Stands Beside You
  16. Two Whoops and a Holler
  17. Don't Fall in Love with a Married Man
  18. What'll You Have
  19. It Tickles
  20. Please Don't Divorce Me
  21. Did You Tell Her About Me
  22. Don't Rush Me
  23. You Sent Her an Orchid (You Sent Me a Rose)
  24. Take Possession
  25. A Satisfied Mind
  26. Beautiful Lies
  27. I Thought of You

Disc 2

  1. You're Calling Me Sweetheart Again
  2. He Loved Me Once and He'll Love Me Again
  3. Girls in Disgrace
  4. This Has Been Your Life
  5. Just Give Me Love
  6. Thank You Just the Same
  7. Over and Over
  8. Tell Me What I Want to Hear
  9. Shadows on the Wall
  10. I'll Thank You All My Life
  11. I Learned It All from You
  12. Hello Old Broken Heart
  13. Sad Singin' and Slow Ridin'
  14. It's Hard to Tell the Married from the Free
  15. Did I Turn Down a Better Deal
  16. A Passing Love Affair
  17. I Married You for Love
  18. I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes
  19. Be Honest with Me
  20. Under Suspicion
  21. I Want to Go Where No One Knows Me
  22. Tomorrow I'll Be Gone
  23. If You Can Walk Away
  24. Go on, Go On
  25. I Lost You After All
  26. It Scares Me Half to Death
  27. You're Just the Kind of Guy
  28. Too Late with the Roses
  29. The Other Woman
  30. Act Like a Married Man
  31. I Used to Love You

Disc 3

  1. The Weak and the Strong
  2. You'd Better Go
  3. A Thief in the Night
  4. Memory
  5. I Love You Because
  6. You Win Again
  7. You Can't Break the Chains of Love
  8. Secret of Life
  9. Jealous Heart
  10. Sweet Temptation
  11. I'll Take the Blame
  12. I'll Never Be Free
  13. I'll Hold You in My Heart
  14. I Hate Myself
  15. You're Telling Me Sweet Lies Again
  16. He's My Baby
  17. Just Another Girl
  18. Jeopardy
  19. Are You Certain?
  20. Better Love Next Time
  21. Have Heart, Will Love
  22. Heartaches, Teardrops and Sorrow
  23. I Didn't Mean to Make You Cry
  24. Sweetheart Don't Come Back
  25. How Do I Tell It to a Child
  26. The One You Slip Around With
  27. The Mysteries of Life
  28. Did I Turn Down a Better Deal
  29. The Root of All Evil (Is a Man)
  30. I'd Like to Know (Where People Can Go)
  31. Lonely Little World

Disc 4

  1. I Don't Apologize for Loving You
  2. Mockin' Bird Hill
  3. Another
  4. Blues Stay Away from Me
  5. If You Haven't, You Can't Feel the Way I Do
  6. Under Your Spell Again
  7. The Waltz of the Angels
  8. One White Rose
  9. Big Midnight Special
  10. Your're the Only Good Thing (That's Happened to Me)
  11. The Color Song (I Lost My Love)
  12. Got You on My Mind
  13. For the Children's Sake
  14. Nobody But Myself
  15. No One Knows
  16. Would You Be Satisfied?
  17. If You Were Losing Him to Me
  18. Second Best
  19. Two Voices, Two Shadows, Two Faces
  20. Go on with Your Dancing
  21. I Can't Seem to Say Goodbye
  22. So Wrong, So Fast
  23. How Long Does It Hurt (When a Heart Breaks)
  24. I Don't Remember
  25. Leave Me Alone
  26. The Biggest Cry
  27. I've Got to Talk to Mary
  28. It's Torture
  29. Your Conscience or Your Heart
  30. I Turned Right Around and Went Home

Disc 5

  1. I've Learned to Live With You (And Be Alone)
  2. Nobody Like You
  3. Lake Lonely
  4. It's Never Too Late
  5. One Less Heartache
  6. A Tear Dropped By
  7. When Your House Is Not a Home
  8. I Can't Cry Him Away
  9. That's What Lonesome Is
  10. Foggy River
  11. When Two Worlds Collide
  12. Loose Talk
  13. I Can't Stop Loving You
  14. The Big Wheel
  15. Born to Lose
  16. If You've Got the Money (I've Got the Time)
  17. Half a Mind
  18. Cigarettes and Coffee Blues
  19. That's What It's Like to Be Lonesome
  20. The Violet and the Rose
  21. Just Call Me Lonesome
  22. Two Little Boys
  23. He Plays the Bongo (I Play the Banjo)
  24. Second Fiddle (To an Old Guitar)
  25. Nobody's Business
  26. It Was Too Late
  27. Someone's Gotta Cry
  28. Ain't You Ashamed
  29. Don't Take Advantage of Me
  30. Let Me Be the Judge
  31. More to Love Than This
  32. Franklin County Moonshine

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jean Shepard   Primary Artist,Leader,Vocals
Floyd Cramer   Piano
Hank Garland   Guitar
Skeets McDonald   Bass
Buck Owens   Guitar
Cal Smith   Vocals,Track Performer
Jordanaires   Choir, Chorus
Simon Crum   Vocals,Track Performer
Grady Martin   Guitar
Billy Strange   Guitar
Speedy West   Steel Guitar,Leader
Jerry Smith   Piano
Bill Woods   Piano,Leader
Anita Kerr Singers   Choir, Chorus
Harold Bradley   Guitar
Floyd Chance   Bass
Johnny Cuviello   Drums
Ray Edenton   Rhythm Guitar
Buddy Harman   Drums
Roy Harte   Drums
Walter Haynes   Steel Guitar
Roy M. "Junior" Husky   Bass
Ferlin Husky   Guitar,Leader,Vocals,Track Performer
Roy Nichols   Guitar
Lewis Talley   Guitar
Herman Wade   Steel Guitar
Hal Rugg   Steel Guitar
Jelly Sanders   Fiddle
Jackie Phelps   Guitar
Martin Eugene "Gene" Breeden   Steel Guitar
Ivy J. "Jimmy" Bryant   Guitar
Clarence "Bud" Dooley   Bass
William Edward "Billy" Liebert   Piano
Joyce "Red" Murrell   Bass
Alfred E. Kern   Drums
Herman "The Hermit" Snyder   Bass

Technical Credits

Lester Flatt   Contributor
Earl Scruggs   Contributor
Chet Atkins   Contributor
Tennessee Ernie Ford   Contributor
Lefty Frizzell   Composer
Hawkshaw Hawkins   Contributor
Ray Price   Contributor
Slim Whitman   Contributor
Faron Young   Contributor
Little Roy Wiggins   Contributor
Jimmy Beck   Composer
Bill Cody   Contributor
Skeeter Davis   Contributor
Colin Escott   Illustrations
Henry Glover   Composer
Ken Nelson   Producer
Jay Ranellucci   Track Mix
Wayne Raney   Composer
Lewis Talley   Composer
Brad Benedict   Illustrations
Marvin Hughes   Producer
Fuzzy Owen   Composer
Chris Skinker   Liner Notes,Biographical Information
Benny Birchfield   Contributor
Alton Delmore   Composer
Rabon Delmore   Composer
Frankie Starr   Contributor
Leverett   Illustrations
R.A. Andreas   Illustrations
Richard Weize   Liner Notes,Reissue Producer,Tape Research
Steve Hathaway   Illustrations
Sylke Holtrop   Artwork,Illustrations
Gerd Weiler   Artwork
Larry Zwisohn   Liner Notes
Gerd Weilder   Illustrations
Ralph Davis   Contributor
Ira Kosloff   Composer
Bill Burton   Composer

Customer Reviews