The Mercenaries

The Mercenaries

by Max Hennessy

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

A new conflict looms, at the very edge of the world.

For World War One flying ace Ira Penaluna, peace brings frustration and disillusionment. Desperate to continue flying, he accepts an offer to go to China as a commander of the ramshackle air-force of General Tsu, a local warlord.

With him he takes a bizarre trio of misfits: Pat, the boozy, bragging Irishman, more interested in bar hopping than flying, Sammy, the mechanical genius, and Ellie, a tough former stunt-pilot.

But before long this joyride becomes a desperate flight for life. After centuries of poverty and exploitation, China is rising against brutal, corrupt rulers like General Tsu, and Ira’s band of adventurers are branded mercenaries.

A thrilling adventure in aviation, The Mercenaries is a triumph, perfect for fans of Wilbur Smith, W. E. Johns and Dale Brown.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781788636865
Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 09/19/2019
Series: The Flying Ace Thrillers , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 479,751
File size: 871 KB

About the Author

Max Hennessy was the pen-name of John Harris. He had a wide variety of jobs from sailor to cartoonist and became a highly inventive, versatile writer. In addition to crime fiction, Hennessy was a master of the war novel and drew heavily on his experiences in both the navy and air force, serving in the Second World War. His novels reflect the reality of war mixed with a heavy dose of conflict and adventure.

Customer Reviews