The Music Inside

The Music Inside

by Chuck LoebChuck Loeb


$16.21 $18.99 Save 15% Current price is $16.21, Original price is $18.99. You Save 15%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, March 3
8 New & Used Starting at $4.25


A splash of variety and all-star panache elevates Chuck Loeb's The Music Inside above the typical play it safe pop-jazz date. Smooth overall but just punchy enough in all the right spots, the disc tends to surprise at the very moment its grooves start sounding too comfortable. After a relaxing take on Babyface's languid "Breathe Again," for instance, Loeb goes the streetsmart bluesy route with the horn drenched "Steffi's Strut." Other cool continental shifts include a breezy Eastern tinge, a crazed Latin attitude with the help of Michel Camilo's trademark ivory bounce, and even tinges of classical influence. The very Sanbornesque ballad "Equal Time" features that notoriously brilliant soundalike, saxman Andy Snitzer, surrounded by the piano harmonics of Sanborn's old cohort Michael Colina. Nelson Rangell, Eddie Daniels and Mitchel Forman round out the celeb input in a setting which shows that while Loeb is stellar on both acoustic and electric strings, his greatest contribution to the genre is his compositional diversity.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/18/1996
Label: Shanachie
UPC: 0016351502223
catalogNumber: 5022
Rank: 29863

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Chuck Loeb   Primary Artist,Guitar,Drums,Keyboards
Jim Beard   Organ
Michael Brecker   EWI
Michel Camilo   Synthesizer,Piano
Michael Colina   Electric Piano
Bob Mintzer   Bass Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Nelson Rangell   Flute,Alto Saxophone
David Charles   Percussion
Gary Anderson   Baritone Saxophone
Carmen Cuesta   Vocals
Eddie Daniels   Clarinet
Zach Danziger   Percussion,Cymbals,Drums,Tom-Tom
Lawrence Feldman   Flute,Alto Flute
Mitchel Forman   Piano,Keyboards
Tony Kadleck   Trumpet
Will Lee   Bass
Rob Mathes   Vocals
Jim Pugh   Bass Trombone,Tamboura,Tenor Trombone
Andy Snitzer   Alto Saxophone
Jon Werking   Keyboards,fender rhodes
Colina   Electric Piano
Wolfgang Haffner   Drums
Tim Lefebvre   Bass
Michael Breckner   EWI
Mel Brown   Bass

Technical Credits

Babyface   Composer
Zach Danziger   Contributor
Chuck Loeb   Arranger,Programming,Producer,drum programming
Phil Magnotti   Engineer
Colina   Contributor
Danny Weiss   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews