The Music of Nashville: Season 1, Vol. 2

The Music of Nashville: Season 1, Vol. 2

by Nashville CastNashville Cast


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Apparently ABC is deeply invested in its hit television series Nashville; this soundtrack is the second volume from its first season. Creator and executive producer Callie Khouri's drama about the city's musical and political scenes, wound around and through the intimate lives of country stars Rayna James (Connie Britton) and Juliette Barnes (Hayden Panettiere), are given weight and heft by a stellar cast that includes Charles Esten (Deacon Clayborne), Clare Bowen (Scarlett O'Connor), and Sam Palladino (Gunnar), among others. For those who don't already know, the actors in the series actually perform the songs assigned them. The music is selected, directed, and often produced and performed by T-Bone Burnett and his ace studio band, which includes guitarist Buddy Miller. This second volume features two performances from Britton and three by Panettiere. Of those songs, the standouts are clear, the latter's reading of Patty Griffin's "We Are Water" reveals the deepening of her character and stands in stark contrast to the more pop-oriented offerings on the previous volume, as does her performance of Sarah Buxton and Kate York's "Nothing in This World Will Ever Break My Heart Again," with its well-placed strings and canny drumming by Jay Bellerose. Britton's reading of Lucinda Williams' "Bitter Memory" -- a crunchy rocker produced by the Black Keys' Dan Auerbach -- and her more languid performance of Buxton's and York's "Stronger Than Me" offers an intimate and convincing look Rayna's personal struggles (should Britton choose to become a solo artist apart from acting, she'd have no trouble). Lennon & Maisy Stella, the two young women who play Rayna's daughters, deliver their own intimate, killer take on the Lumineers' hit, "Ho Hey," while the duo of O'Connor and Palladino deliver wonderful duets in "Fade Into You" and "I Will Fall," which may be the album's finest tracks. Like the second half of the first season in this series, this volume has plenty to offer fans of the show, but more importantly, to fans of Americana and non-formulaic contemporary country to boot.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/07/2013
Label: Big Machine Records
UPC: 0843930009527
catalogNumber: 0150
Rank: 72332

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nashville Cast   Primary Artist
Sam Bush   Mandolin
Pam Tillis   Background Vocals
Glen Duncan   Violin,Bazouki
Jack Ashford   Tambourine
Richard Bennett   Electric Guitar
T Bone Burnett   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
John Catchings   Cello
Dennis Crouch   Bass
Teresa James   Background Vocals
Greg Leisz   Banjo
Buddy Miller   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Russ Pahl   Pedal Steel Guitar
J.D. Souther   Background Vocals
Glenn Worf   Bass
Jay Bellerose   Drums
David Poe   Electric Guitar,Vocals
Sam Ashworth   Background Vocals
Woody Jackson   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Mark Hill   Bass
Tim Lauer   Keyboards
Fred Eltringham   Drums
Jeff Roach   Keyboards
John Deaderick   Piano
Jason Wormer   Background Vocals
Dan Auerbach   Guitar,Background Vocals
Casey Driessen   Fiddle
Marco Giovino   Drums
Fil Krohnengold   Vocals
Patrick Keeler   Drums
Ross Copperman   Hammond B3
Kate York   Background Vocals
Alyssa Bonagura   Background Vocals
Mary Faber   Background Vocals
Bobby Emmett   Bass
Keefus Ciancia   Keyboards
Jason Dering   Drums
Ilya Toshinskiy   Guitar
Zachary Dawes   Bass
Gabriel Witcher   Acoustic Guitar,Fiddle,Mandolin,Violin,Background Vocals,Mellotron
Angelina Burnett   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Lucinda Williams   Composer
Steve Buchanan   Executive Producer
T Bone Burnett   Producer
Garth Fundis   Producer
Patty Griffin   Composer
Natalie Hemby   Composer
Buddy Miller   Producer,Executive Producer,Vocal Producer
Mike Poole   Vocal Engineer
Steve Robson   Composer
Glenn Worf   Additional Production
Chuck Ainlay   Engineer,Additional Production
David Poe   Composer
Mike Piersante   Engineer
Gordie Sampson   Composer
Matt Andrews   Engineer
Frank Liddell   Producer
Shane McAnally   Composer
Jason Wormer   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Dan Auerbach   Producer,Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Cary Barlowe   Composer
Sarah Buxton   Composer
Ross Copperman   Producer,Engineer
Caitlyn Smith   Composer
Becky Reiser   Art Direction
Kate York   Composer
Matt Jenkins   Composer
Sandi Spika Borchetta   Art Direction
Callie Khouri   Executive Producer
Leo Goff   Engineer
Trevor Rosen   Composer
Lydia Rogers   Composer
Laura Rogers   Composer
Gabriel Witcher   Producer,Vocal Producer
Angela Lauer   Composer
Wesley Schultz   Composer
Tyler James   Composer
Jeremiah Fraites   Composer

Customer Reviews