The Musical Mojo of Dr. John: Celebrating Mac & His Music

The Musical Mojo of Dr. John: Celebrating Mac & His Music

by Dr. JohnDr. John


$20.36 $21.99 Save 7% Current price is $20.36, Original price is $21.99. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


As one of the leading lights of New Orleans music, Dr. John deserves a splashy, star-studded celebration -- which is precisely what producer Don Was assembled on May 3, 2014 at New Orleans' Saenger Theatre. Was led a house band featuring drummer Kenny Aronoff, trombonist Sarah Morrow, keyboardist Chuck Leavell, guitarist Brian Stoltz, and pianist John Gros, then invited a host of rockers, blues musicians, and Big Easy legends to the party. Concord released the whole shebang in October 2016 as The Musical Mojo of Dr. John: Celebrating Mac & His Music, a double-disc live album accompanied by a live concert movie, and in either incarnation, it's a blast. Granted, it's the kind of party that's relatively low-key, appropriate for the easy roll behind so much of Dr. John's music, but the neat thing about Musical Mojo is how it shows the breadth of Mac's musical diversity. Naturally, there's plenty of room for such fellow New Orleans legends as Irma Thomas, Allen Toussaint, and the Neville Brothers, but straight blues players like Tab Benoit are here alongside a jazzman like Terence Blanchard, not to mention Americana all-star Jason Isbell, jam band stalwarts Widespread Panic and Warren Hayes, plus classic rockers Bruce Springsteen and John Fogerty. Throughout it all, Dr. John remains at the center, occupying attention even when he's offstage because it's clear that this blend of jazz, soul, R&B, rock, and pop is distinctly his.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/21/2016
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0888072009820
catalogNumber: 00216
Rank: 35208

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dr. John   Primary Artist
Brint Anderson   Guitar
Kenny Aronoff   Drums
Bobby Campo   Trumpet
Chuck Leavell   Keyboards
Ann McCrary   Background Vocals
Don Was   Bass
Mark Mullins   Trombone
Brian Stoltz   Guitar
John Gros   Keyboards
Regina McCrary   Background Vocals
Khris Royal   Saxophone
Alfreda McCrary   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Percy Mayfield   Composer
Dr. John   Artist,Arranger,Composer
John Fogerty   Artist
Aaron Neville   Artist
Bruce Springsteen   Artist
Irma Thomas   Artist
Widespread Panic   Artist
Dirty Dozen Brass Band   Artist
Buddy Johnson   Composer
Charles Neville   Artist
Bill Quateman   Composer
Tab Benoit   Artist
Warren Haynes   Artist
Terence Blanchard   Artist
Bill Kreutzmann   Artist
Huddie Ledbetter   Composer
John A. Lomax   Composer
Ziggy Modeliste   Artist
Cyril Neville   Artist
George Porter   Artist
Mavis Staples   Artist
Allen Toussaint   Composer
Don Was   Musical Director
Anders Osborne   Artist
John Boutté   Artist
James Wayne   Composer
Robert Guidry   Composer
Joseph Royster   Composer
Robert Shad   Composer
Frank Guida   Composer
Max Weissenfeldt   Composer
Dave Malone   Artist
Traditional   Composer
Shannon McNally   Artist
Sarah Morrow   Artist
Jason Isbell   Artist
Dan Auerbach   Composer
Keith Wortman   Executive Producer,Creation
Martin Kaelin   Arranger
Big Chief Monk Boudreaux   Artist
Leon Michels   Composer
Ryan Bingham   Artist
Brian Olive   Composer
Huey Smith   Composer
Earl King Johnson   Composer
Conor McAnally   Senior Producer
Garrett Morlan   Illustrations
Nicholas Movshon   Composer
Robert Rauffer   Cover Design

Customer Reviews