The Orpheus Descent: A Novel

The Orpheus Descent: A Novel

by Tom Harper

Paperback

$15.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Overview

A cerebral literary thriller in the vein of Dan Brown, Matthew Pearl, and Sam Bourne, The Orpheus Descent follows classical philosopher Plato on a mysterious journey to Italy that will ignite a conspiracy that burns into the present.

The greatest thinker in human history, Plato, travels to Italy seeking initiation into the Orphic mysteries: the secret to the Underworld known only to the gods. But the knowledge he discovers is terrifying.

Two millennia later, twelve ancient golden tablets secreted in museums around the world hold sacred information known to only a few—the pathway the dead must follow to the afterlife. And archaeologist Lily Barnes has just found another on a dig in southern Italy. But this tablet is far more valuable—and dangerous—than the rest. It holds the key to hell itself.

Now, Lily is gone and her husband, Jonah, is desperate to find her. He knows she is alive—and in mortal danger—and he’s willing to go to hell itself to find her. But the deeper he descends on this dark and twisting journey, the more Jonah’s fear rises, for not everyone who travels where Lily has gone will find their way back. . . .

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062305282
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/27/2014
Pages: 464
Sales rank: 1,160,017
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Tom Harper has written a dozen thrillers, including The Orpheus Descent, Lost Temple, and Secrets of the Dead. He grew up in Germany, Belgium, and America, and studied history at Oxford University. His first novel was a runner-up for the CWA Debut Dagger Award. His books have been translated into twenty languages. He lives in York, England, with his wife and two sons.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Orpheus Descent 2.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some hard reading work but qorth it . ? I think. Would like to know how many of his words were really from Socratea.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This turned out to be a little too cerebral for me.. it tends to drag a bit..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
a+little+complicated++to+follow++but+did+keep+my+interest+.+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But worth it. On a reread, will approach only one chapter a day. That shoulda allw some time for reflection
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago