The Other Side of the Mountain: Bluegrass, Newgrass and Beyond

The Other Side of the Mountain: Bluegrass, Newgrass and Beyond


$17.38 $17.99 Save 3% Current price is $17.38, Original price is $17.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


While the post-O Brother Where Art Thou? craze has put a premium on old-time bluegrass in the Bill Monroe and Lester Flatt mold, another rich vein of acoustic music has been neglected. Born in the late '60s and early '70s, progressive bluegrass (often called newgrass) blends the old with the new to create an eclectic, constantly shifting hybrid. The Other Side of the Mountain: Bluegrass, Newgrass and Beyond offers a dozen progressive songs and instrumentals, providing a nice intro into the genre and a chance to check out Compass' impressive roster. Tim O'Brien delivers a fine vocal on "Handsome Molly," while Sam Bush converts Elvis Costello's "Every Day I Write the Book" into a catchy piece of acoustic new wave. Peter Rowan revisits "Rainmaker" with a little help from Drew Emmitt, while Judith Edelman delves into her trademark Americana on "Good Day, There It Goes." The Other Side of the Mountain is also rich in lovely instrumental work. Both Darol Anger and Mike Marshall, veterans from the David Grisman Quintet, make a number of appearances, and hotshot mandolinist Matt Flinner is joined by guitarist David Grier and bassist Todd Phillips on "City Chickens" and "Dixie Hoedown." All of these divergent styles, from folk-jazz to acoustic funk, are brought together by a high level of musicianship and a love of innovation. For anyone curious about how things sound on The Other Side of the Mountain, this collection will more than suffice.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/08/2002
Label: Compass Records
UPC: 0766397434728
catalogNumber: 974347
Rank: 192648

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Alison Brown   Banjo
David Grier   Guitar
Peter Rowan   Guitar,Vocals
Sam Bush   Mandolin,Vocals
Darol Anger   Fiddle
Todd Phillips   Bass
Philip Aaberg   Piano
Luke Bulla   Fiddle
John Burr   Piano
Vassar Clements   Fiddle
Jeff Coffin   Tenor Saxophone
John Cowan   Bass,Vocal Harmony
Stuart Duncan   Fiddle,Vocals
Garth Fundis   Vocal Harmony
Béla Fleck   Banjo
Vince Gill   Guitar,Vocal Ad-Libs
Derek Jones   Bass
Gene Libbea   Bass,Vocals
Kenny Malone   Percussion
Mike Marshall   Mandolin
Ronnie McCoury   Mandolin
Tim O'Brien   Bouzouki,Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Scott Vestal   Banjo
Victor Wooten   Bass
Reese Wynans   Organ
Carter Beauford   Drums
Drew Emmitt   Mandolin,Vocals
Future Man   Keyboards
Garry West   Bass
Judith Edelman   Guitar,Vocals
Pasi Leppikangas   Drums
Aaron Johnston   Drums
Kendrick Freeman   Drums
Lex Price   Bass
Casey Driessen   Fiddle

Technical Credits

Darol Anger   Composer
Elvis Costello   Composer
David Forman   Composer
Jesse McReynolds   Composer
Eric Bazilian   Composer
Rick Chertoff   Composer
Rob Hyman   Composer
Jim McReynolds   Composer
Brad SanMartin   Liner Notes
Test Department   Composer

Customer Reviews