The Professionals

The Professionals

by Max Hennessy

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

To swing the tide of the war, he must take to the air once again.

It was 1916. The First World War had still two years to run. Martin Falconer, at eighteen an experienced pilot with service in France to his credit, was kicking his heels in England, awaiting another posting to the Front.

Throughout the spring he watched the progress of the war, especially the war in the air, acknowledging to himself the German’s superiority. Their machines were better, and they had produced the war’s best-known hero of the air, the Red Baron. British machines were poor, morale was low, and the odds were stacked against them.

Finally, at the beginning of April, Martin was sent again to France – but this was the month that became known as Bloody April, when a pilot’s life-expectancy was two weeks, and Martin found himself in a unit demoralised and ill-managed.

John Harris’s sombre picture of Britain at war is as compelling as only the truth can be, perfect for fans of W. E. Johns, Alexander Fullerton and David Black.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781800320796
Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 07/22/2020
Series: The Martin Falconer Thrillers , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 724,610
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Max Hennessy was the pen-name of John Harris. He had a wide variety of jobs from sailor to cartoonist and became a highly inventive, versatile writer. In addition to crime fiction, Hennessy was a master of the war novel and drew heavily on his experiences in both the navy and air force, serving in the Second World War. His novels reflect the reality of war mixed with a heavy dose of conflict and adventure.

Customer Reviews