The Promise: The Darkness on the Edge of Town Story [3 CD/3 DVD]

The Promise: The Darkness on the Edge of Town Story [3 CD/3 DVD]

by Bruce SpringsteenBruce Springsteen

CD(3 CD/3 DVD Set)

$116.02 $119.99 Save 3% Current price is $116.02, Original price is $119.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


The Promise: The Darkness on the Edge of Town Story offers an unprecedented look into Bruce Springsteen's creative process during a defining moment in his career, the making of the 1978 album Darkness On The Edge Of Town.

This deluxe 3-CD / 3-DVD package includes the remastered album, never-before-seen studio and live footage, an 80-page notebook, 21 previously unreleased songs, a documentary film, and a classic 1978 Houston performance.

This deluxe edition is also available in a 3-CD / 3-Blu-ray package, while 2-CD and 3-LP editions are available separately.

Contents details:

  • 80-page spiral-bound reproduction of Bruce's original notebooks documenting the recording sessions for the album, containing alternate lyrics, song ideas, recording details, and personal notes, in addition to photographs and a new essay by Springsteen.
  • CD 1 - Remastered version of the album Darkness on the Edge of Town.
  • CD 2 & 3 - The Promise. 21 previously unreleased songs.
  • DVD 1 - The Promise: The Making of Darkness on the Edge of Town, including previously unavailable archival footage shot between 1976 and '78, capturing home rehearsals and recording sessions that allow us to see Springsteen's creative process at work.
  • DVD 2 - Darkness on the Edge of Town: Paramount Theatre, Asbury Park & Thrill Hill Vault: 1976-78. An intimate and complete album performance of Darkness on the Edge of Town at Paramount Theatre in Asbury Park, NJ shot in 2009, as well as previously unreleased archival footage from the Thrill Hill Vault including complete song performances taken from private band rehearsals, studio sessions, and live concerts during the Darkness era.
  • DVD 3 - Houston ’78 Bootleg: House Cut. Previously unreleased complete concert performance from the historic Darkness on the Edge of Town tour.

-- From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 11/16/2010
Label: Sony
UPC: 0886977652523
catalogNumber: 776525


Disc 1

  1. Badlands
  2. Adam Raised a Cain
  3. Something In the Night
  4. Candy's Room
  5. Racing In the Street
  6. The Promised Land
  7. Factory
  8. Streets of Fire
  9. Prove It All Night
  10. Darkness On the Edge of Town

Disc 2

  1. Racing In the Street
  2. Gotta Get That Feeling
  3. Outside Looking In
  4. Someday (We'll Be Together)
  5. One Way Street
  6. Because the Night
  7. Wrong Side of the Street
  8. The Brokenhearted
  9. Rendezvous
  10. Candy's Boy

Disc 3

  1. Save My Love
  2. Ain't Good Enough For You
  3. Fire
  4. Spanish Eyes
  5. It's a Shame
  6. Come On (Let's Go Tonight)
  7. Talk To Me
  8. The Little Things (My Baby Does)
  9. Breakaway
  10. The Promise
  11. City of Night

Disc 4

  1. A Commitment To Life
  2. Two Clouds
  3. The Sound Picture
  4. The Process
  5. Notebook
  6. Pop Songs
  7. Varying Opinions
  8. Adult Music
  9. Making an Album
  10. Vision of Now
  11. Sense of Possibilities
  12. Credits

Disc 5

  1. Badlands
  2. Adam Raised a Cain
  3. Something In the Night
  4. Candy's Room
  5. Racing In the Street
  6. The Promised Land
  7. Factory
  8. Streets of Fire
  9. Prove It All Night
  10. Darkness On the Edge of Town
  11. Save My Love
  12. Candy's Boy
  13. Something In the Night
  14. Don't Look Back
  15. Ain't Good Enough For You
  16. The Promise
  17. Candy's Room
  18. Badlands
  19. The Promised Land
  20. Prove It All Night
  21. Born To Run
  22. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)

Disc 6

  1. Badlands
  2. Streets of Fire
  3. It's Hard To Be a Saint In the City
  4. Darkness On the Edge of Town
  5. Spirit In the Night
  6. Independence Day
  7. The Promised Land
  8. Prove It All Night
  9. Racing In the Street
  10. Thunder Road
  11. Jungleland
  12. The Ties That Bind
  13. Santa Claus is Comin' To Town
  14. Fever
  15. Fire
  16. Candy's Room
  17. Because the Night
  18. Point Blank
  19. She's the One
  20. Backstreets
  21. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
  22. Born To Run
  23. Detroit Medley: Devil With the Blue Dress/Good Golly Miss Molly/C.C. Ri
  24. Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
  25. You Can't Sit Down
  26. Quarter To Three

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bruce Springsteen   Primary Artist,Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
David Lindley   Violin
Clarence Clemons   Percussion,Saxophone,Vocals
Patti Scialfa   Background Vocals
Roy Bittan   Piano,Keyboards
Barry Danielian   Trumpet
Danny Federici   Organ,Glockenspiel
Rick Gazda   Trumpet
Charlie Giordano   Organ
Stan Harrison   Tenor Saxophone
Jon Landau   Drums
Dan Levine   Trombone
Garry Tallent   Bass,Bass Guitar
Soozie Tyrell   Background Vocals
Max Weinberg   Drums
Curt Ramm   Trumpet
Bob Muckin   Trumpet
Kevin Buell   Guitar
Harry McCarthy   Drums
Michelle Moore   Background Vocals
Corinda Carford   Background Vocals
Steve Van Zandt   Guitar,Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Tiffeny Andrews   Background Vocals
Richie "La Bamba" Rosenberg   Trombone
Ed Manion   Baritone Saxophone
Bob Chirmside   Bass
Antoinette Savage   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Bruce Springsteen   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer,Additional Production
Gene Barge   Composer
Dee Clark   Composer
Bob Crewe   Arranger
Gary Anderson   Composer
Richard Blackwell   Composer
Barbara Carr   Executive Producer,Management
J. Fred Coots   Composer
Haven Gillespie   Composer
Jimmy Iovine   Engineer
Jon Landau   Executive Producer,Management
Kal Mann   Composer
Ellas McDaniel   Composer
Thom Panunzio   Memorabilia
Toby Scott   Engineer
Patti Smith   Composer
John Landau   Producer
Ken Asher   String Arrangements
Richard Penniman   Composer
David Bett   Art Direction
Arnold Levine   Director
Randy Tuten   Memorabilia
Enotris Johnson   Composer
John Marascalco   Composer
Joseph Royster   Composer
Frank Guida   Composer
George Travis   Executive Producer
Barry Rebo   Director,Producer
Traditional   Composer
Cornell Muldrow   Composer
Michelle Holme   Art Direction
Alison Oscar   Management
Thom Zimny   Producer,Filmmaker
Marilyn Laverty   Publicity
Sophia Pecora   Management
Steve Van Zandt   Horn Arrangements
Rob Light   Booking
William Stevenson   Composer
Frederick Long   Composer
Nick Loss-Eaton   Publicity
Jan Stabile   Management
Dale Adamson   Liner Notes
Barry Bell   Booking

Customer Reviews