The Prophet Speaks

The Prophet Speaks

by Van Morrison


$12.23 $13.99 Save 13% Current price is $12.23, Original price is $13.99. You Save 13%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 23
6 New & Used Starting at $9.79

Product Details

Release Date: 12/07/2018
Label: Caroline
UPC: 0602577071867
catalogNumber: 770718
Rank: 2283

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Van Morrison   Primary Artist,Harmonica,Alto Saxophone,Vocals
Joey DeFrancesco   Organ,Trumpet,Keyboards
Jim Stern   Tambourine
Shana Morrison   Background Vocals
Troy Roberts   Bass,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Acoustic Bass
Dan Wilson   Acoustic Guitar
Michael Ode   Drums

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
John Lee Hooker   Composer
Solomon Burke   Composer
Sam Cooke   Composer
Gene Barge   Composer
Joey DeFrancesco   Producer
Van Morrison   Composer,Producer
Jim Stern   Engineer
Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson   Composer
Leona Blackman   Composer
Pete Parsons   Tour Manager
James Bracken   Composer
Delores Burke   Composer
Josephine Burke Moore   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Prophet Speaks 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
BPenceofCoramDeotheBlog More than 1 year ago
Morrison returns with The Prophet Speaks, which features six new Morrison originals, along with his interpretation of eight blues and R&B classics. Gonna Send You Back to Where I Got You From – This song was written by Eddie “Cleanhead” Vinson and Leona Blackman. The song has a great beat, driven by Morrison’s vocal over organ, horns and guitar. The band really shines on this song. Dimples – This song was written by John Lee Hooker and James Bracken. Morrison’s harmonica kicks this song off, along with drums, guitar, DeFrancesco’s organ, horns and an excellent vocal by Morrison. The song includes some nice organ, guitar, sax and harmonica solos. Got to Go Where the Love Is – This song was written by Morrison. The song begins with bass, horns and keys. The song has a great beat, including hand claps, and really allows the band to show off. There are nice key and guitar solos. Laughin’ and Clown’n – This song was written by Sam Cooke. This blues song begins with guitar, drums, bass and organ and features an excellent vocal from Morrison. The song features a great organ solo from DeFrancesco, as well as sax and guitar solos. 5 am Greenwich Mean Time – This song was written by Morrison. This new song about heartbreak and loss fits in nicely with the covers. It has a swinging beat driven by organ and drums. Gotta Get You Off My Mind – This song was written by Solomon Burke, Delores Burke and Josephine Burke Moore. This blues song is driven by organ, guitar, drums, handclaps, bass and backing king vocals by Morrison’s daughter Shana. The song features a nice harmonica solo by Morrison. Teardrops – This song was written by J.D. Harris. Morrison sing this blues song over piano, bass, guitar and light percussion. Morrison’s vocal and DeFrancesco’s piano stand out. The song also features nice guitar and harmonica solos. I Love the Life I Live – This song was written by Willie Dixon. The song begins with organ, bass, and light percussion. Morrison delivers an energetic vocal as the band takes turns with organ, guitar and sax solos. Worried Blues/Rollin’ and Tumblin – This song was written by J.D. Harris. This blues song begins and is driven with organ. The song features guitar, horn and harmonica solos. Ain’t Gonna Moan No More – This song was written by Morrison. The song opens with organ and light percussion and guitar. The song features some excellent organ, guitar and horns. Love is a Five Letter Word – This song was written by Gene Barge. The song is driven by organ, horns and drums. Love is a five-letter word spelled M-O-N-E-Y. The song features a nice organ solo. Love is Hard Work – This song was written by Morrison. This original blues song begins with Morrison on harmonica and fits in nicely with the covers. It features organ, sax and light percussion. The song features organ, harmonica and guitar solos mid-song. Spirit Will Provide – This song was written by Morrison. The laid-back song begins with piano and light percussion, guitar and backing vocals from daughter Shana. There is a nice piano solo mid-song. It’s hard to tell what Morrison is referring to in the song when he says “Spirit”. The Prophet Speaks – This song was written by Morrison. The laid-back bluesy song begins with light guitar, percussion and guitar. There are nice horn, guitar and harmonica solos. He echos Jesus as he sings “Only those who have ears to hear”. The question is who is the prophet he is singing about?
glauver More than 1 year ago
The Prophet Speaks is Van Morrison's follow-up to You're Driving Me Crazy, a collaboration with jazz organist Joey DeFrancesco. DeFrancesco and his combo are back, as is Van's daughter Shauna, who again duets with her father on two cuts. Morrison again plays saxophone and harmonica. I really liked the last two songs, Spirit Will Provide and The Prophet Speaks, both written by Van. Both remind me of his 80s music, which I really liked. I don't think this recording is as up-tempo as You're Driving Me Crazy; it seems more blues than jazz. However , I still give it 4 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Music is fabulous. Songs original. VM's style is soulful. Oh, yeah.