The Racket

The Racket

by Anita Mason


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17


A moral thriller of the first order, The Racket is set in the darkly shadowed Latin American landscape of modern-day Brazil, a vast country on the brink of anarchic lawlessness on every level and bankruptcy both material and spiritual. Against the background of urban decay and the rape of nature, social disintegration, and private despair, two people find themselves at dangerous odds with the institutional savagery around them.

One is an idealistic young teacher, Rosa Van Meurs, whose innocently written letter of protest against a corporate violation of native tribal land makes her the target of retribution. The other is her cousin Fabio, a poet and dreamer, who has drifted into the underworld to become an instrument of an evil, with no escape short of death. Inevitably these two opposites are drawn together, their fates intertwined in a tale taut with suspense as it moves toward moments of decision and final reckoning.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781448208999
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 09/01/2012
Pages: 212
Product dimensions: 9.10(w) x 6.10(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Anita Mason was born in Bristol, England. She read English at Oxford, lived in London, and worked in the publishing field for five years.

Mason is the author of eight novels to date, as well as a number of short stories. Her novels include, The Illusionist (1983), The War Against Chaos (1988), The Racket (1990), Angel (1994), and The Yellow Cathedral (2002).

Her latest novel is The Right Hand of the Sun, and was published by John Murray in September, 2008

The Illusionist was nominated for the 1983 Booker Prize in the UK.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews