Real Thing [Deluxe Edition]

Real Thing [Deluxe Edition]

by Faith No MoreFaith No More

CD(Special Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Starting with the careening "From Out of Nowhere" driven by Roddy Bottum's doomy, energetic keyboards, Faith No More rebounded excellently on The Real Thing after Chuck Mosley's was fired. Given that the band had nearly finished recording the music and Mike Patton was a last minute recruit, he adjusts to the proceedings well. His insane, wide-ranging musical interests would have to wait for the next album for their proper integration, but the band already showed enough of that to make it an inspired combination. Bottum, in particular, remains the wild card, coloring Jim Martin's nuclear-strength riffs and the Bill Gould/Mike Bordin rhythm slams with everything from quirky hooks to pristine synth sheen. It's not quite early Brian Eno-joins-Led Zeppelin-and-Funkadelic, but it's closer than one might think, based on the nutty lounge vibes of "Edge of the World" and the Arabic melodies and feedback of "Woodpeckers from Mars." "Falling to Pieces," a fractured anthem with a delicious delivery from Patton, should have been a bigger single than it was, while "Surprise! You're Dead!" and the title track stuff riffs down the listener's throat. The best-known song remains the appropriately titled "Epic," which lives up to its name, from the bombastic opening to the concluding piano and the crunching, stomping funk metal in between. The inclusion of a cover of Black Sabbath's "War Pigs" amusingly backfired on the band -- at the time, Sabbath's hipness level was nonexistent, making it a great screw-you to the supposed cutting-edge types. However, all the metalheads took the band to heart so much that, as a result, the quintet dropped it from their sets to play "Easy" by the Commodores instead! [In 2015, just in time for the release of Faith No More's reunion album Sol Invictus, Rhino brought out a Deluxe Edition of The Real Thing, expanded in a two-disc set with the addition of 11 bonus tracks. In addition to five live selections from shows in Germany and the U.K. -- two of which appeared on the You Fat Bastards live video and album -- the bonus disc includes alternate mixes of "Epic," "From Out of Nowhere," and Falling to Pieces," as well as two non-LP B-sides, "Cowboy Song" and "The Grade" (the latter an acoustic guitar piece) and a track that was given away as a flexi-disc with Kerrang! Magazine, "Sweet Emotion" (nope, not the Aerosmith tune). The remastered audio adds a bit of welcome detail to the original album, and the inclusion of several rare tracks will make this worth a listen for committed fans; the expanded artwork also reveals which member of the group was not about to be photographed in his underwear.] ~ Ned Raggett & Mark Deming

Product Details

Release Date: 06/09/2015
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0825646120970
catalogNumber: 549654
Rank: 34992

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Faith No More   Primary Artist
Mike Bordin   Drums,Group Member
Roddy Bottum   Keyboards,Group Member
Bill Gould   Bass,Group Member
Mike Patton   Vocals,Group Member
Jim Martin   Guitar,Group Member

Technical Credits

Faith No More   Composer,Producer
Ozzy Osbourne   Composer
Geezer Butler   Composer
Tony Iommi   Composer
Matt Wallace   Producer,Engineer
Bill Ward   Composer
Jeff Price   Art Direction
Jim "Watts" Vereecke   Engineer
Malcolm Dome   Liner Notes
Charles Farmer   Artwork,Images

Customer Reviews