The Real...Johnny Cash: The Ultimate Johnny Cash Collection [3-CD]

The Real...Johnny Cash: The Ultimate Johnny Cash Collection [3-CD]

by Johnny CashJohnny Cash


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, February 28
3 New & Used Starting at $5.71


This set combines six of Johnny Cash's late-'50s and early-'60s LPs for Columbia Records, 1958's The Fabulous Johnny Cash, 1959's Hymns and Songs of Our Soil, 1960's Ride This Train and Now, There Was a Song!, and 1962's Hymns from the Heart, along with six bonus tracks, including "I Walk the Line" and "Folsom Prison Blues," from Cash's earlier stay at Sun Records. A lot more was to follow for Cash, but the beginning and the first maturation of his iconic career is presented here.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/21/2011
Label: Sony Uk
UPC: 0886979153929
catalogNumber: 7915392
Rank: 33887


Disc 1

  1. Run Softly, Blue River
  2. Frankie's Man, Johnny
  3. That's All Over
  4. The Troubadour
  5. One More Ride
  6. That's Enough
  7. I Still Miss Someone
  8. Don't Take Your Guns To Town
  9. I'd Rather Die Young
  10. Pickin' Time
  11. Shepherd Of My Heart
  12. Suppertime
  13. Oh What A Dream
  14. Mama's Baby
  15. Fool's Hall Of Fame
  16. I'll Remember You
  17. Cold Shoulder
  18. Walking The Blues
  19. It Was Jesus
  20. I Saw A Man
  21. Are All The Children In
  22. The Old Account
  23. Lead Me Gently Home
  24. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
  25. Snow In His Hair
  26. Lead Me Father
  27. I Call Him
  28. These Things Shall Pass
  29. He'll Be A Friend
  30. God Will
  31. It Was Jesus

Disc 2

  1. Drink To Me
  2. Five Feet High And Rising
  3. The Man On The Hill
  4. Hank And Joe And Me
  5. Clementine
  6. Great Speckled Bird
  7. I Want To Go Home
  8. The Caretaker
  9. Old Apache Squaw
  10. Don't Step On Mother's Roses
  11. My Grandfather's Clock
  12. It Could Be You (Instead Of Him)
  13. I Got Stripes
  14. You Dreamer You
  15. Loading Coal
  16. Slow Rider
  17. Lumberjack
  18. Dorraine Of Ponchartrain
  19. Going To Memphis
  20. When Papa Played The Dobro
  21. Boss Jack
  22. Old Doc Brown
  23. The Fable Of Willie Brown
  24. Second Honeymoon
  25. Ballad Of The Harp Weaver
  26. Smiling Bill McCall

Disc 3

  1. Seasons Of My Heart
  2. I Feel Better All Over
  3. I Couldn't Keep From Crying
  4. Time Changes Everything
  5. My Shoes Keep Walking Back To You
  6. I'd Just Be Fool Enough (To Fall)
  7. Transfusion Blues
  8. Why Do You Punish Me (For Loving You)
  9. I Will Miss You When You Go
  10. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  11. Just One More
  12. Honky Tonk Girl
  13. He'll Understand And Say Well Done
  14. God Must Have My Fortune Laid Away
  15. I Got Shoes
  16. When I've Learned Enough To Die
  17. Let The Lower Lights Be Burning
  18. If We Never Meet Again
  19. When I Take My Vacation In Heaven
  20. Taller Than Trees
  21. I Won't Have To Cross Jordan Alone
  22. When He Reached Down His Hand For Me
  23. My God Is Real
  24. These Hands
  25. I Walk The Line
  26. Folsom Prison Blues
  27. Cry! Cry! Cry!
  28. Get Rhythm
  29. Guess Things Happen That Way
  30. Rock Island Line
  31. Home Of The Blues

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Johnny Cash   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Bessie Smith   Composer
Johnny Cash   Arranger,Composer,Adaptation
Red Foley   Composer
Tex Ritter   Composer
Marty Robbins   Composer
Merle Travis   Composer
Eddie Noack   Composer
Stuart Hamblen   Composer
Leon Payne   Composer
Edna St. Vincent Millay   Composer
Melvin Endsley   Composer
Ray Baker   Composer
Tommy Duncan   Composer
Buddy Killen   Composer
Huddie Ledbetter   Composer
Marijohn Wilkin   Composer
C. Walker   Composer
Billy Mize   Composer
Autry Inman   Composer
Vic McAlpin   Composer
A. Brumley   Composer
Charlie Williams   Composer
Will L. Thompson   Composer
Craig Starrett   Composer
Thelma Matesky Moore   Composer
Buddy Mize   Composer
D. Edwards   Composer
Clement   Composer
T. Ramsey   Composer
T. Harris   Composer
D.L. Coates   Composer
K. Rogers   Composer
J. Freeman   Composer
L. Forebee   Composer
Marshall Pack   Composer
H. Williams   Composer
J.L. Carson   Composer
Reverend Guy Smith   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Real...Johnny Cash: The Ultimate Johnny Cash Collection [3-CD] 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
glauver More than 1 year ago
These are Cash's first albums on Columbia. There is a lot of music here some great and some just so-so. To Johnny's credit, he kept the rough, ragged sound he had pioneered at Sun. He also, at a time when many country artists ignored them, championed the plight of the downtrodden. You may find the narratives on Ride That Train a bit windy (I did). The Sun classics at the end of Disc 3 show how average much of this music is. If you want one or two Cash collections, I would suggest one of the Sun years and the 2002 The Essential Johnny Cash ahead of this one