The Recession

The Recession

by Young JeezyYoung Jeezy


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.


Dropping the sequential album titles for his third release, Young Jeezy's The Recession introduces itself as anything but Thug Motivation 103. The opening title track features a collage of some very 2008 news reports where America is going broke while the "they just don't care about us" feeling sweeps the nation. Then Jeezy enters trading his non-stop swagger for social commentary, and while the singalong thug chorus is as strong as ever, the rapper's transformation from cocaine-slinging king to voice of the people is unconvincing, especially when he mentions his personal driver and how his "make it rain" sessions at the strip club are getting more conservative. The Barack Obama shout-out that closes the album -- "My President" with special guest Nas -- works much better with flippant verses ("We ready for damn change/So you all let the man shine") more suitable for a man who prefers to be called "The Snowman." Same goes for "Circulate" and its great line about oil prices ("Gas higher than me") but The Recession abandons politics often enough that you can't call it ponderous or even a concept album. With those great drums and fake trumpets producer Drumma Boy loves so much, trap star anthem "Amazin" is simple, feel-good music for pimps and players, while the soul-filled "Word Play" finds Jeezy and the J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League celebrating the power of rap with warm nostalgia in their hearts. "Put On" with Kanye West singing through an Auto-Tune is the usual second-line goodness that Jeezy normally rounds out albums with, but there's more forgettable filler than expected, most of it sounding like mixtape leftovers or in the case of "Vacation," lackluster and forced club tracks. Of course with 18 songs the album allows for some dead weight and trimming. Even if it falls a distant third out of the first three, the scattershot Recession is still a welcome and even risky step forward, one carried by its highlights and the newfound awareness that the cocaine grind isn't everything.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/02/2008
Label: Def Jam
UPC: 0602517760264
catalogNumber: 001153602

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Young Jeezy   Primary Artist
Trina Broussard   Vocals
Peter Drew   Track Performer,Spoken Word
Kanye West   Vocals
Chris Davies   Track Performer,Spoken Word
Frank Charlton   Track Performer,Spoken Word
Laura Edwards   Vocals
Lora Cain   Track Performer,Spoken Word
Larry McRary   Drums
Miykal Snoody   Keyboards

Technical Credits

DJ Toomp   Audio Production
Mike Dean   Vocal Recording
L.A. Reid   Executive Producer
Ken Lewis   Creation
Tony Rey   Engineer
DJ Squeeky   Producer,Audio Production
Shawty Redd   Audio Production
DJ Pain   Producer,Audio Production
Justice League   Producer,Audio Production
Terry Allen   Producer,Audio Production
Drumma Boy   Audio Production
Eric Weissman   Sample Clearance
Midnight Black   Audio Production
Shakir Stewart   Executive Producer
Derrick Selby   Engineer
Nicholas Solis   Engineer
Don Cannon   Producer,Audio Production
TaVon Sampson   Art Direction
Tha Bizness   Audio Production
Fatboi   Producer,Audio Production
Demetrius Ellerbee   Executive Producer
Metkel Deglel   Producer,Audio Production
Simon Gidewon   Producer,Audio Production
Inkredibles   Producer
Wolsey David Thomas   Producer,Audio Production
Inkredibles   Audio Production
Crown Kings Productions   Audio Production
D. Rich   Audio Production

Customer Reviews