The Rose of England

The Rose of England

by Nick Lowe & His Cowboy OutfitNick Lowe & His Cowboy Outfit


$16.28 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.28, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Following through on the roots-rock leanings of Cowboy Outfit, Nick Lowe delivered the delightful The Rose of England. While some of the material is still rather lightweight -- "Lucky Dog" and "Bo Bo Skediddle" are defiant and thoroughly entertaining throwaways -- much of the record is clever and charming, delivered with laidback confidence from the Cowboy Outfit. "Darlin' Angel Eyes" and "The Rose of England" are minor classics in the Lowe canon, while his cover of John Hiatt's "She Don't Love Nobody" and the revival of the rockabilly standard "7 Nights to Rock" keep the album moving. Still, it's his stark take on Elvis Costello's lovely "Indoor Fireworks" that gives the album an anchor, and it's a performance so affecting that it makes the neutered reworking of "I Knew the Bride" completely forgivable.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/25/2017
Label: Yep Roc Records
UPC: 0634457239623
catalogNumber: 2396
Rank: 53970

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nick Lowe & His Cowboy Outfit   Primary Artist
Paul Carrack   Organ,Bass,Piano,Background Vocals,Harmony,Group Member
Chris Thompson   Banjo
Martin Belmont   Guitar,Group Member
Andrew Bodnar   Bass
Mario Cipollina   Bass
Johnny Colla   Guitar,Percussion,Saxophone,Background Vocals
Chris Hayes   Guitar,Background Vocals
Sean Hopper   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Bobby Irwin   Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Huey Lewis   Harmonica,Background Vocals
Nick Lowe   Guitar,Vocals,6-string bass,String Bass
Nick Pentelow   Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

Elvis Costello   Composer
John Hiatt   Composer
Bill Gibson   Engineer
Mario Cipollina   Engineer
Johnny Colla   Engineer
Colin Fairley   Producer
Henry Glover   Composer
Chris Hayes   Engineer
Sean Hopper   Engineer
Huey Lewis   Producer,Engineer
Nick Lowe   Composer,Producer
Webb Pierce   Composer
Tony Phillips   Engineer
Gary Rue   Composer
Wayne Walker   Composer
Louis Innis   Composer
Leslie Ball   Composer
Buck Trail   Composer
Jeff Cummins   Cover Art
Irene Kelly   Engineer

Customer Reviews