The Rough Guide to Scottish Music

The Rough Guide to Scottish Music


$13.23 $15.99 Save 17% Current price is $13.23, Original price is $15.99. You Save 17%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Rough Guide to Music series has long served as a sort of Cliff's Notes to a particular artist, genre, or region. On The Rough Guide to Scottish Music, the focus is placed on the country's contemporary folk scene, encompassing its many hybrids and offshoots. Ranging from more traditional fare sung in gaelic, like Kathleen MacInnes's "Òran Dhomhnaill Phàdraig (Song for Donald Peter)" to the folk-influenced rock of Glaswegian indie band Admiral Fallow, the Rough Guide offers a modern look at a country with a musical history that spans millennia. Fiddles and flutes are well-represented throughout many of the more traditionally minded selections, but there are quite a few unique, pop-oriented songs like Alasdair Whyte's "Tuathal" and AMWWF's "Pigeon Song," which use Scotland's native music as more of a stepping-off point for creating their own distinct brands. In addition to the 16-song compilation, there is also a bonus disc that solely features the music of Scottish traditional folk group Cliar.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/25/2014
Label: World Music Network
UPC: 0605633131024
catalogNumber: 331310
Rank: 119342

Album Credits

Technical Credits

John Scott   Composer
Mary Ann Kennedy   Composer,Sleeve Notes
Campbells   Arranger
Phil Cunningham   Composer
Nick Turner   Composer
Duncan Ban MacIntyre   Composer
Peter MacLeod   Composer
Karine Polwart   Composer
Emily Smith   Composer
Robert Burns   Composer
Bruce MacGregor   Composer
Kris Drever   Composer
Cliar   Arranger
William Ross   Composer
Calum MacCrimmon   Arranger
Findlay Napier   Composer
Ewan MacPherson   Composer
Esther Swift   Arranger
Angus MacDonald   Composer
Megan Henderson   Arranger
Norrie Maciver   Composer
Ewan Robertson   Arranger
Bruce McGregor   Composer
Louis Abbott   Composer
Kevin Brolly   Composer
Sarah Hayes   Composer
Rachel Jackson   Sleeve Notes
John Maccoll   Composer
Joy Dunlop   Arranger
Manran   Arranger
James Lindsay   Arranger
Alexander MacDonald   Composer
Hector MacKenzie   Composer
Rachel Sermanni   Arranger
Philip Hague   Composer
Alasdair Whyte   Composer
James Duncan MacKenzie   Arranger,Composer
Catriona Price   Arranger
Rona Wilkie   Composer
Michael MacPherson   Composer
Joseph Rattray   Composer
Gavin Firth   Composer
David Webster   Composer

Customer Reviews