The Sermon

The Sermon

by Five Blind Boys of AlabamaThe Original Five Blind Boys of Alabama


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A treasure trove of previously unreleased material, this brings together 25 new tracks, all recorded between 1953 and 1957. Only two songs, "Heaven on My Mind" and "I'm Going Through," were ever released in any form, but the quality of the material is certainly as high as any of their early sides. Here's one of gospel's greatest groups, singing their hearts out in their absolute prime.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/01/1993
Label: Specialty
UPC: 0022211704126
catalogNumber: 7041
Rank: 105276

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Blind Boys of Alabama   Primary Artist
Clarence Fountain   Vocals
Gwendolyn Cooper   Piano
Rev. Paul Exkano   Vocals,Tenor (Vocal)
Johnny Fields   Bass (Vocal)
Rev. Sammy Lewis   Vocals,Tenor (Vocal)
Rev. Percell Perkins   Vocals,Tenor (Vocal)
Roy Porter   Drums
Olice Thomas   Baritone (Vocal)
Rev. George W. Warren   Vocals,Tenor (Vocal)
George Scott   Guitar,Vocals,Tenor (Vocal)

Technical Credits

Clarence Fountain   Arranger
Don Davis   Composer
Lee Hildebrand   Producer,Liner Notes,Reissue Producer,Series Supervision
Kenneth S. Morris   Composer
Opal Nations   Producer,Liner Notes,Reissue Producer,Series Supervision
Art Rupe   Producer
Phil Carroll   Art Direction
Albert E. Brumley   Composer
Deb Sibony   Art Direction
Robert "Bumps" Blackwell   Producer
Traditional   Composer
George Scott   Arranger

Customer Reviews