The Ship Who Searched (Brain and Brawn Ships Series #3)

The Ship Who Searched (Brain and Brawn Ships Series #3)

by Anne McCaffrey, Mercedes Lackey


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, April 13


Special 20th Anniversary Edition, with a new introduction by Mercedes Lackey. A beloved classic of romantic space adventure returns. A novel of Anne McCaffrey’s Brainship series. A young woman becomes paralyzed and must become a brainship—and find her Brawn, her human soul mate, so that she can discover a cure for her illness.

Tia Cade is a headstrong, smart, and very normal girl—until she contracts a terrible illness that leaves her with the bare semblance of life. Tia’s only hope: to become the oldest person ever to train to be one of the legendary star travelers, the brainships But now that Tia is free of her ravaged body, there still remains the task of finding the right partner to be her Brawn, the human element every brainship requires. And when the disease that debilitated Tia threatens thousands more, selecting a Brawn who is her true soul mate may allow Tia to find the origin of the terrible plague—and perhaps even a cure.

20th Anniversary edition featuring a new introduction by Mercedes Lackey.

About Anne McCaffrey:

“McCaffrey's [creates] a vivid future universe of diversified cultures and technological wonders [with] vivid heroes and villains. . .”—Publishers Weekly on the Brainship series

About Mercedes Lackey:

“With [Mercedes Lackey], suspense never lags. . .”–Kliatt

"She'll keep you up long past your bedtime."—Stephen King

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781451638738
Publisher: Baen
Publication date: 02/05/2013
Series: Brain and Brawn Ships Series , #3
Edition description: Original
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 616,384
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Anne McCaffrey was the Hugo Award-winning author of the bestselling Dragonriders of Pern® novels, the Brainship series, and others. She remains one of the most popular science fiction authors of all time.

Mercedes Lackey is the New York Times best-selling author of the Bardic Voices series and the Serrated Edge series (both Baen), the Heralds of Valdemar series, and many more. Among her popular Baen titles are The Fire Rose, The Lark and the Wren, and The Shadow of the Lion (with Eric Flint and Dave Freer). She lives in Oklahoma.

Customer Reviews