The Singing Ranger: 1949-1953

The Singing Ranger: 1949-1953

by Hank SnowHank Snow

CD(Box Set)

$99.77 $99.99 Save 0% Current price is $99.77, Original price is $99.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Bear Family's The Singing Ranger: 1949-1953 contains every song Hank Snow recorded for RCA in the beginning of his career. Not only are career-making songs like "I'm Movin' On," "Marriage Vow," and "The Rhumba Boogie" included, but so is a wealth of unreleased songs and alternate takes. For diehard Hank Snow fans, this first volume of The Singing Ranger series is the most essential of the three.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/12/1994
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127154262
catalogNumber: 15426
Rank: 54643


Disc 1

  1. I'm Movin' On
  2. With This Ring I Thee Wed
  3. The Rhumba Boogie
  4. Paving the Highway with Tears
  5. The Golden Rocket
  6. Your Locket Is My Broken Heart
  7. Unwanted Sign Upon Your Heart
  8. (I Wished Upon) My Little Golden Horseshoe
  9. Confused with the Blues
  10. You Pass Me By
  11. Love Entered the Iron Door
  12. I Cried But My Tears Were Too Late
  13. One More Ride
  14. Hobo Bill's Last Ride
  15. Wreck of the Old '97
  16. Ben Dewberry's Final Run
  17. The Mystery of Number Five
  18. The Engineer's Child
  19. The Law of Love
  20. Nobody's Child
  21. I Wonder Where You Are Tonight
  22. The Star Spangled Waltz
  23. The Blind Boy's Dog
  24. Marriage Vow
  25. The Only Rose
  26. The Anniversary of My Broken Heart

Disc 2

  1. Music Makin' Mamma from Memphis
  2. The Highest Bidder
  3. The Gold Rush Is Over
  4. Love's Game of Let's Pretend
  5. Bluebird Island
  6. Down the Trail of Achin' Hearts
  7. Lady's Man
  8. (Now and Then There's) A Fool Such as I
  9. Why Do You Punish Me (For Loving You)
  10. Chattin' with a Chick in Chattanooga
  11. The Greatest Sin
  12. Married by the Bible, Divorced by the Law
  13. There Wasn't an Organ at Your Wedding
  14. On That Old Hawaiian Shore with You
  15. Zeb Turney's Gal
  16. Golden River
  17. Moanin'
  18. I Knew That We'd Meet Again
  19. Yodeling Cowboy
  20. On That Old Hawaiian Shore with You
  21. I'm Movin' on to Glory
  22. Jesus Wept
  23. Pray
  24. These Things Shall Pass
  25. He'll Understand and Say Well Done
  26. I Just Telephone Upstairs
  27. I'm in Love with Jesus

Disc 3

  1. The Gal Who Invented Kissin'
  2. Spanish Fireball
  3. Honeymoon on a Rocket Ship
  4. Between Fire and Water
  5. The Boogie Woogie Flying Cloud
  6. I Can't Control My Heart
  7. For Now and Always
  8. A Message from the Tradewinds
  9. I Traded Love
  10. The Next Voice You Hear
  11. When Mexican Joe Met Jole Blon
  12. I Went to Your Wedding
  13. Jimmie the Kid
  14. My Blue-Eyed Jane
  15. When Jimmie Rodgers Said Goodbye
  16. Southern Cannonball
  17. Anniversary Blue Yodel
  18. Why Did You Give Me Your Love?
  19. Mississippi River Blues
  20. In Daddy's Footsteps
  21. The Gloryland March
  22. Christmas Roses
  23. The Reindeer Boogie
  24. Frosty the Snowman
  25. Silent Night
  26. My Mother

Disc 4

  1. Just Keep a Movin'
  2. My Sweet Conchita
  3. Panamama
  4. Unfaithful
  5. Wabash Blues
  6. It's You Only You That I Love
  7. Would You Mind?
  8. In an Old Dutch Garden (By an Old Dutch Mill)
  9. The Owl and I
  10. I Don't Hurt Anymore
  11. Stolen Moments
  12. Hilo March
  13. Act 1, Act 2, Act 3
  14. Yellow Roses
  15. No Longer a Prisoner
  16. Sweet Marie
  17. My Arabian Baby
  18. The Bill Is Fallling Due
  19. Blossoms in the Springtime
  20. I'm Glad I'm on the Inside Looking Out
  21. When It's Reveille Time in Heaven
  22. My Religion's Not Old Fashioned (But It's Real Genuine)
  23. Invisible Hands
  24. Little Children
  25. The Alphabet
  26. (The Angels Are Lighting) God's Little Candles

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hank Snow   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Anita Kerr   Choir, Chorus
Marty Gold   Organ
Anita Carter   Vocals,Track Performer
James Blackwood   Choir, Chorus
Hillous Butrum   Bass
Charles Randolph Grean   Bass
Hoyt Hawkins   Baritone,Baritone (Vocal)
Millie Kirkham   Choir, Chorus
Ernest Ernie Newton   Bass
Danny Perri   Guitar
Velma Smith   Guitar
Marvin Hughes   Organ
Culley Holt   Bass,Bass (Vocal),Choir, Chorus
Jack Shook   Guitar
Hugh Gordon Stoker   Tenor (Vocal)
Henry Newton "Tommy" Vaden   Fiddle
R.W. Blackwood   Choir, Chorus
Betty Cody   Track Performer
Hal Aloma   Ukulele
Joseph Hale III Talbot   Banjo,Steel Guitar
Clarence E. Snow   Guitar,Leader,Vocals
Marvin H. Hughes   Organ
William Matthews   Choir, Chorus,Tenor (Vocal)
Chernet   Guitar
Dave Bohme   Fiddle
Otha Dale Lohman   Steel Guitar
Velma E. Williams Smith   Guitar
Jimmie Rodgers Snow   Vocals,Track Performer
Evelyn Wilson   Choir, Chorus
Donald Slayman   Fiddle
Monty Matthews   Choir, Chorus,Baritone (Vocal)

Technical Credits

Jimmie Rodgers   Composer
Hank Snow   Composer
Carson Robison   Composer
Stuart Hamblen   Composer
Don Robertson   Composer
Franz Gruber   Composer
Clay Boland   Composer
Boudleaux Bryant   Composer
Mel Foree   Composer
Mack Gordon   Composer
Johnny Marks   Composer
Mary Jean Schurtz   Composer
Joe Sherman   Composer
Steve Sholes   Producer
S. Nelson   Composer
Charles K. Wolfe   Liner Notes
Jenks "Tex" Carman   Composer
Betty Cody   Vocal Overdubs
Johnnie Masters   Composer
Henry Whitter   Composer
Clarence E. Snow   Composer
Charles Wolfe   Liner Notes
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer
F.J. Lewey   Composer
Joseph Mohr   Composer
Elsie McWilliams   Composer
Sid Wayne   Composer
Marjorie Lampkin   Composer
John T. Benson   Composer
Jack Rollins   Composer
Blanche Snow   Composer
Maggie Andrews   Composer
Dwight Butcher   Composer
Cy Coben   Composer
Peanuts Faircloth   Composer
Paula Frances   Composer
Cordia Volkmar   Composer
Dan Welsh   Composer
Lulubelle White   Composer
Moe Jaffe   Composer
Raymond Hall   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Lucie E. Campbell   Composer
Will Grosz   Composer
Earl Griswold   Composer
Charles Orr   Composer
Steve Nelson   Composer
Lou Herscher   Composer
Frances Kane   Composer
Ed Nelson   Composer

Customer Reviews