The Snow Goose [Bonus Tracks]

The Snow Goose [Bonus Tracks]

by CamelCamel


$13.66 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.66, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Camel's classic period started with The Snow Goose, an instrumental concept album based on a novella by Paul Gallico. Although there are no lyrics on the album -- two songs feature wordless vocals -- the music follows the emotional arc of the novella's story, which is about a lonely man named Rhayader who helps nurse a wounded snow goose back to health with the help of a young girl called Fritha he recently befriended. Once the goose is healed, it is set free, but Fritha no longer visits the man because the goose is gone. Later, Rhayader is killed during a battle as he defends his village from intruders. The goose returned during the battle, and it is then named La Princesse Perdue, symbolizing the hopes that can still survive even during the evils of war. With such a complex fable to tell, it is no surprise that Camel keeps their improvisational tendencies reigned in, deciding to concentrate on surging, intricate soundscapes that telegraph the emotion of the piece without a single word. And even though The Snow Goose is an instrumental album, it is far more accessible than some of Camel's later work, since it relies on beautiful sonic textures instead of musical experimentation. [The 2002 reissue offers five bonus tracks: the single versions of "Rhayader," "Flight of the Snow Goose," and "Rhayader Goes to Town," and live versions of "Snow Goose/Freefall" and "Great Marsh."]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/25/2002
Label: Polygram Uk
UPC: 0042288293026
catalogNumber: 882930

Album Credits

Customer Reviews