The Sound of Glory

The Sound of Glory

by Mormon Tabernacle ChoirMormon Tabernacle Choir


$18.36 $18.99 Save 3% Current price is $18.36, Original price is $18.99. You Save 3%.


The Sound of Glory surely refers to the Mormon Tabernacle Choir's tone as well as to the religious spirit of this program. They make a huge, warm, and joyful noise that is incredibly uplifting, no matter what one's faith is. Here they sing 17 highly varied selections, including the soul-stirring "Battle Hymn of the Republic," the tender Irish tune "All Things Bright and Beautiful," and the Shaker melody "Simple Gifts" (made famous in Copland's Appalachian Spring). With the choir accompanied by the Orchestra at Temple Square and the mammoth organ of the Mormon Tabernacle in Salt Lake City, this recording is not for the faint of heart. Although many of the songs are quiet and comforting, when the ensemble pulls out all the stops, your whole house will vibrate -- thanks, too, to Telarc's phenomenal sound quality, which will turn your living room into a sun-filled cathedral.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/23/2001
Label: Telarc
UPC: 0089408057922
catalogNumber: 80579

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mormon Tabernacle Choir   Primary Artist,Choir, Chorus,Ensemble
Christopher Cock   Tenor (Vocal)
Craig D. Jessop   Conductor
Craig D. Jessop   Conductor
Elliott Clark   Bass (Vocal)
John Prather   Tenor (Vocal)
Orchestra at Temple Square   Performing Ensemble

Technical Credits

Michael Bishop   Engineer
Jack Renner   Engineer
Robert Woods   Producer
Charles Wesley   Composer,Text
William Draper   Composer
Anilda Carrasquillo   Art Direction
Catherine Winkworth   Composer,translation
William D. Longstaff   Composer
Cecil Frances Alexander   Text
William B. Bradbury   Composer
William Walford   Composer
David Warner   Composer,Text
Traditional   Composer
Julia Ward Howe   Composer,Text
Joachim Neander   Composer,Text
William W. Phelps   Composer,Text
James Montgomery   Composer,Text
John Cardinal Newman   Text
St. Francis of Assisi   Text
Annie S. Hawks   Text
Robert Robinson   Text
Lowrie M. Hofford   Text

Customer Reviews