The Sound of Music [2013 NBC Television Cast]

The Sound of Music [2013 NBC Television Cast]

by Carrie UnderwoodCarrie Underwood


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, April 15


The soundtrack to the Carrie Underwood-starring live 2013 presentation of The Sound of Music is absent the one quality that made the televised musical so interesting: it is not recorded live; it was cut in the studio. This may make it not as kinetic or as exciting as the broadcast but the precision of the studio reveals how the cast -- led by Underwood but also featuring Audra McDonald, Stephen Moyer, Ariane Rinehart, and Jessica Molaskey -- are throwing themselves into their roles. In turn, the arrangements are faithful to either the original Broadway production or, most often, the 1965 film -- which is appropriate, as reinvention isn't the purpose of a production like this. This 2013 staging is a nostalgic celebration of one of the most beloved 20th century musicals and it does right by its source material.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/03/2013
Label: Masterworks
UPC: 0888837981422
catalogNumber: 379814
Rank: 215312

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Carrie Underwood   Primary Artist,Vocals
David Chase   Conductor
Joe West   Vocals
Audra McDonald   Vocals
Christiane Noll   Vocals
Laura Benanti   Vocals
Michael Nigro   Vocals
Jessica Molaskey   Vocals
Christian Borle   Vocals
Elena Shaddow   Vocals
Stephen Moyer   Vocals
Sophia Caruso   Vocals
Ariane Rinehart   Vocals
Sound of Music Television Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Sound of Music Television Cast Ensemble   Choir, Chorus
Steven Malone   Children's Choirmaster
Peyton Ella   Vocals
Michael Campayno   Vocals
Grace Rundhaug   Vocals
Ella Watts-Gorman   Vocals

Technical Credits

Richard Rodgers   Composer
David Chase   Producer,Music Direction,Synopsis
Oscar Hammerstein   Lyricist
Frank Wolf   Producer,Engineer
Craig Zadan   Executive Producer
Janet Weber   Recording Production Manager
Scott McDaniel   Cover Design
Jennifer Liebeskind   Product Development
Neil Meron   Executive Producer
Russel Crouse   Book
Howard Lindsay   Book
Tyler Hartman   Vocal Recording
Ted Chapin   Liner Notes
Doug Besterman   Producer,Orchestration
Rob Ashford   Stage Direction
Fred Lassen   Assistant Music Supervisor
Nino Muñoz   Cover Photo
Beth McCarthy   Stage Direction
Priscilla Taussig   Producer

Customer Reviews