The Stand-In

The Stand-In

by Caitlin RoseCaitlin Rose


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


In a perfect world, Caitlin Rose would be a big star, and indeed, she may well get there anyway, given that she has a sweet, pure, coy, sassy, assured, and beautiful voice, and writes wonderfully balanced pop-country songs that suggest Patsy Cline, Linda Ronstadt, and the commercial pop end of Fleetwood Mac all rolled together. On The Stand-In, her second full-length, Rose builds on 2010's critically applauded Own Side Now, and delivers a strong and assured collection of songs that poise themselves right at the junction of country and pop, which ought to assure her of some strong radio play across multiple formats, since songs like "I Was Cruel," the gorgeous "Only a Clown," the stunning and precise "Silver Sings," and the melodic and memorable "Everywhere I Go" could fit anywhere into anyone's life. Rose isn't trying to be all traditional country here, or even all straight pop either, but somehow she effortlessly melts the two together, and this set is definitely a winner, full of solid playing and, of course, Rose's easy and comfortingly wise vocals. In a perfect world, and even in an imperfect world, she deserves a wide and appreciative audience.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/05/2013
Label: Ato Records
UPC: 0880882183622
catalogNumber: 21836

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Caitlin Rose   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Skylar Wilson   Piano,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
Lex Price   Acoustic Guitar
Ian Fitchuk   Percussion,Drums
Jordan Lehning   Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Hammond B3
Melissa Mathes   Background Vocals
Charlie Worsham   Banjo,Mandolin
Mark Fredson   Background Vocals
Eli Beaird   Bass
Spencer Cullum   Pedal Steel Guitar,Slide Guitar
Michael Rinne   Upright Bass
Leif Shires   Trumpet
Jeremy Fetzer   Electric Guitar
Lindsey Smith-Trostle   Cello
Michael O'Gieblyn   Violin
Eleonore Denig   Violin
Jordan Caress   Background Vocals
Ryan Latham   Baritone Saxophone
Diego Vasquez   Trombone
Jason Goforth   Harmonica

Technical Credits

Skylar Wilson   Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements
Jordan Lehning   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Mark Fredson   Composer
Jeremy Fetzer   Composer
Caitlin Rose   Composer,Producer,String Arrangements
Eric Masse   Engineer
Rachel Briggs   Art Direction

Customer Reviews