The Time of My Life: A Righteous Brother's Memoir

The Time of My Life: A Righteous Brother's Memoir

Paperback(First Trade Paper Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, April 3


Bill Medley's indelible baritone adorns some of the biggest hits of the twentieth century and is prominent on the soundtrack of an entire generation. He and his musical partner, the late inimitable Bobby Hatfield, formed the Righteous Brothers in 1963 and forever changed the sound of popular music. The term "blue-eyed soul" was born.

After the Phil Spector-produced "You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'" hit #1 in 1964 and Bobby Hatfield's sweeping solo vocal turn on "Unchained Melody" enchanted millions, the Righteous Brothers found themselves in the thick of the musical and cultural changes sweeping the nation. They toured with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones, became friends with Elvis Presley and the Beach Boys, and brought rhythm and blues to the largest crossover audience it had reached to date.

The Time of My Life is an affecting and vivid memoir of those times and beyond. But Medley's story isn't just about the #1 hits and the awards. It's the story of an immensely talented young guy who lived the rock star life and reached the pinnacle of fame, success, and excess, and how he was eventually able to renew his commitment to both his faith and his family.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780306823671
Publisher: Da Capo Press
Publication date: 08/25/2015
Edition description: First Trade Paper Edition
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 396,954
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.80(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Bill Medley, along with the other half of the Righteous Brothers, Bobby Hatfield, has recorded such hits as "(You're My) Soul and Inspiration" and "Rock and Roll Heaven." His worldwide #1 hit, "(I've Had) the Time of My Life," with Jennifer Warnes, earned him a Grammy, a Golden Globe, and an Academy Award. In 2003, Medley and Hatfield were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and he continues to tour and perform to sold-out audiences everywhere. He lives in Southern California with his wife Paula.

Mike Marino is an author, speaker, and musician. He was a member of several popular music groups including the McCoys, famous for their #1 hit "Hang on Sloopy." He lives in Orange County, California.

Table of Contents

Foreword vii

Preface ix

1 Orange County Graffiti 1

2 The Paramours 10

3 The Rendezvous Ballroom 14

4 The Double-Whammy 19

5 The Beatles 22

6 Shindig 25

7 The Cow Palace 30

8 We're, uh, I'm Off to New York 41

9 Riding the Wave 43

10 The Green Light from Sinatra 46

11 That's the B-Side? 53

12 Soul and Inspiration 56

13 Sweet Karen 59

14 The "New" Righteous Brothers 70

15 I Can't Make It Alone 74

16 Hey Jude 81

17 Elvis 86

18 No Voice, No Choice 94

19 The Second Time Around 98

20 Relationships 108

21 Lights, Camera, Action 131

22 From Dogshit to Diamonds 143

23 The Beat Goes on 152

24 The Hall 166

25 November 5, 2003 170

26 The Fans 178

27 Beyond Bobby 183

28 Kid Stuff 194

29 In My Head and Heart 202

30 Last Call 208

Afterthoughts from the Coauthor 211

Acknowledgments 215

Index 219

Customer Reviews