The Truth About Love

The Truth About Love

by PinkPink


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A lot has happened to P!nk since the release of her 2008 breakup album, Funhouse, most notably a reconciliation with her estranged husband, Carey Hart, and subsequent birth of their child in 2011. P!nk wrestles with these two life-changing events and many other thorny issues on her 2012 album, The Truth About Love, a vibrant mess of a record that finds the pop star embracing every one of her contradictions. Alone among the class of 2000 -- a group that roughly includes such other new millennium stars as Britney Spears, Christina Aguilera, Mandy Moore, and Jessica Simpson -- P!nk comes across as an actual adult, eager to dive into the muck of grown-up emotions, expanding and deepening her music without succumbing to stuffy pretension. She may be deeply invested in being a wife and mother but she's keenly aware of what's happening outside of her house, offering a clever spin on Ke$ha's freak empowerment on the opening "Are We All We Are," enlisting Fun.'s Nate Ruess as a duet partner on "Just Give Me a Reason," and fiendishly stealing some of the Black Keys' moves and retailoring them for the dancefloor on "How Come You're Not Here." P!nk deftly weaves these new threads into a tapestry that contains a few of her signature moves -- there is a handful of confessional power ballads and snotty, funny pure pop disguised as dance hits -- and some surprises, including cameos from Lily Allen ("True Love") and Eminem ("Here Comes the Weekend") and a title track that is as sunny and carnivalesque as a '60s surf-pop sensation. Sometimes the transitions are too sudden, causing some aural whiplash -- that clomping, heavy "Here Comes the Weekend" wouldn't fit neatly into any sequence -- but its ragged edges underscore the essential appeal of The Truth About Love: nothing about it is neat, it shifts courses and refutes itself, it's "nasty and salty," as P!nk herself sings about true love. It's weird and willfully, proudly human, a big pop album about real emotions and one of P!nk's wildest rides. [A clean version of the disc was also released.]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/18/2012
Label: Rca
UPC: 0887254524427
catalogNumber: 545244
Rank: 2706

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pink   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Charlie Bisharat   Concert Master
Kevin Dukes   Guitar
Greg Kurstin   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards
Butch Walker   Background Vocals
Dan Wilson   Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Keyboards
Jonathan Yudkin   Strings
Dave Stone   Bass
Billy Mann   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Piano,Electric Guitar
Max Martin   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Pete Wallace   Keyboards
DJ Khalil   Keyboards
Andrew Duckles   Viola
Steve Richards   Cello
Jeff Bhasker   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Zachary Baird   Keyboards
Shellback   Bass,Guitar,Drums,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Danny Keyz   Keyboards
Tamara Hatwan   Violin
Sarah Parkins   Violin
Erik Alcock   Guitar
Liz Rodrigues   Background Vocals
Phillip A. Peterson   Strings
Dave Schuler   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar
Oli Krauss   Violin,Cello,Viola
Tracklacers   Bass,Keyboards
Anders Mouridsen   Guitar
Willow Sage Hart   Bells
Steve Wolf   Tambourine
Chin Ijeti   Bass

Technical Credits

David Campbell   String Arrangements,String Conductor
Roger Davies   Management
Greg Kurstin   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
John X. Volaitis   Engineer,Recording Assistant
Butch Walker   Composer,Producer
Dan Wilson   Composer,Producer
Jonathan Yudkin   Engineer,String Arrangements
Chin Injeti   Producer
Billy Mann   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Max Martin   Composer,Producer
Irene Taylor   Management
Pink   Composer,Executive Producer
Steve Daly   Composer
Marshall Mathers   Composer
Pete Wallace   Engineer,String Arrangements
DJ Khalil   Producer
Nate Ruess   Composer
Pawel Sek   Guitar Engineer
Jeff Bhasker   Composer,Programming,Producer
Tyler Johnson   Guitar Engineer
Jesse Shatkin   Engineer
David Schuler   Composer
Chris Kasych   Pro-Tools
Nick Steinhardt   Art Direction
Shellback   Composer,Programming,Producer
John Brown   Additional Production
Emile Haynie   Composer,Producer
Sam Holland   Engineer
Pranam Injeti   Composer
Erik Alcock   Composer
Jake Sinclair   Engineer
Liz Rodrigues   Composer
Busbee   Composer
John Hill   Composer,Producer
Ben West   Composer
Dave Schuler   Arranger,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Lisa Garrett   Management
Jon Keep   Composer
Nick Cua   Tour Manager
Oliver Straus   Engineer
Mike Strange   Vocal Engineer
Tracklacers   Arranger,Producer,drum programming
John Rausch   Engineer
Lily Rose Cooper   Composer
Jeri Heidin   Art Direction
Shady Farshadfar   Management
Laura Sik   Engineer
Phil Allen   Engineer
John X. Valaitis   Engineer
Khalil Abdul-Rahman   Composer

Customer Reviews