The Very Best of Jackson Browne

The Very Best of Jackson Browne

by Jackson BrowneJackson Browne

CD(Remastered / Digi-Pak)

$16.99 $21.99 Save 23% Current price is $16.99, Original price is $21.99. You Save 23%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The career-spanning double-disc Very Best of Jackson Browne is both generous and astute. Throughout the '70s, Browne epitomized the confessional singer-songwriter genre: His songs were often introspective, personal, and poetic, tinged with melancholy and longing-but they could also rock, albeit in that laid-back, California way. Beginning with the soulful "Doctor My Eyes," the first disc covers the classics from the '70s, including the twangy "Take It Easy," which Browne wrote with Glenn Frey, whose Eagles had a hit with it; the wistful "These Days," covered first by Nico and more recently by Paul Westerberg; the touching "Fountain of Sorrow"; and the desperate "The Pretender." Browne reached his commercial pinnacle with 1977's Running on Empty, and "The Load-Out," "Stay," and the title track were Top 40 hits. In the '80s, Browne's work became more political, and while his albums could seem strident, the songs that make up the second disc, such as "Lives in the Balance" and "Lawyers in Love," are powerful and sharp. The set ends with tracks from 2002's The Naked Ride Home, which was hailed as Browne's return to form. The Very Best of Jackson Browne argues otherwise: Browne's consistently insightful and precise writing and his sincere voice have been constants for three decades.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/16/2004
Label: Elektra / Wea
UPC: 0081227809126
catalogNumber: 78091
Rank: 566

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jackson Browne   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Clarence White   Acoustic Guitar
Crosby & Nash   Vocal Harmony
Dan Fogelberg   Vocal Harmony
Don Henley   Vocal Harmony
Elton John   Piano
David Lindley   Acoustic Guitar,Fiddle,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Graham Nash   Vocal Harmony
Bonnie Raitt   Vocal Harmony
Chuck Rainey   Bass
Jesse Ed Davis   Electric Guitar
Vonda Shepard   Vocal Harmony
Jorge Calderon   Bass,Vocal Harmony
Valerie Carter   Background Vocals
Lowell George   Slide Guitar,Vocal Harmony
John Hall   Guitar,Soloist
Terry Reid   Vocal Harmony
Mike Campbell   Guitar (12 String Electric)
Rick Vito   Guitar,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Jim Keltner   Drums
Jim Gordon   Drums
Joyce Everson   Vocal Harmony
Sneaky Pete Kleinow   Pedal Steel Guitar
Benmont Tench   Hammond Organ
Roy Bittan   Piano
Rosemary Butler   Vocals,Vocal Harmony
David Campbell   Conductor
Luis Conte   Percussion
Quique Cruz   Zampona
Walfredo Reyes   Conga
Debra Dobkin   Vocal Harmony
Craig Doerge   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano,fender rhodes,Mini Moog
Kevin Dukes   Guitar
Beth Fitchet   Vocal Harmony
Glenn Frey   Vocal Harmony
Bob Glaub   Bass
Mark Goldenberg   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Doug Haywood   Organ,Bass,Vocals,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Michael Jochum   Drums
Danny Kortchmar   Guitar,Maracas,Guitar (Electric Baritone)
Russ Kunkel   Conga,Drums
Greg Leisz   Guitar (12 String Electric),Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Mauricio-Fritz Lewak   Drums
Perry Lindley   Vocal Harmony
Stan Lynch   Drums
Rick Marotta   Drums
Val McCallum   Electric Guitar
Kevin McCormick   Acoustic Guitar,Bass
Mickey McGee   Drums
David Paich   Piano
Jeff Porcaro   Drums
Bill Payne   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano
J.D. Souther   Vocal Harmony
Mindy Sterling   Vocal Harmony
Jorge Strunz   Guitar (Nylon String)
Fred Tackett   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Scott Thurston   Guitar,Keyboards,Vocal Harmony
Lori B. Williams   Vocal Harmony
Larry Zack   Percussion,Drums
Arnold McCuller   Background Vocals
Waddy Wachtel   Guitar
Michael Utley   Organ
Leland Sklar   Bass
Jai Winding   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano
Hugo Pedroza   Charango,tiple
Jeff Scott Young   Piano,Hammond Organ,Vocal Harmony

Technical Credits

Jackson Browne   Composer,Producer,Sequencers
Maurice Williams   Composer
Jorge Calderon   Composer
James Austin   Executive Producer
Terry Becker   Engineer
David Campbell   String Arrangements
Luis Conte   Composer
Paul Dieter   Engineer
Glenn Frey   Composer
Bryan Garofalo   Composer
James Geddes   Engineer
Mark Goldenberg   Composer
John Haeny   Engineer
Mark Howlett   Engineer
Dennis Kirk   Engineer
Danny Kortchmar   Composer
Russ Kunkel   Composer
Greg Ladanyi   Producer,Engineer
Jon Landau   Producer,Notes Editing
Mauricio-Fritz Lewak   Composer
Kevin McCormick   Composer,Producer
Jim Nipar   Engineer
Richard Sanford Orshoff   Producer,Engineer
Schmitt   Producer,Engineer
Scott Thurston   Composer,Producer
David Tickle   Engineer
Townes Van Zandt   Composer
Steven Van Zandt   Composer
Jeff Young   Composer
Dave Marsh   Liner Notes
Nels Israelson   Cover Photo
Nancy Farnsworth   Composer
Robin Hurley   Executive Producer
Dustin Stanton   Artwork

Customer Reviews