The Very Best of Prestige: Prestige 60th Anniversary

The Very Best of Prestige: Prestige 60th Anniversary


4 New & Used Starting at $1.99


The Very Best of Prestige: Prestige 60th Anniversary collects 25 tracks from one of the most influential independent jazz labels of the 20th century. Boasting legendary performances by Miles Davis, Thelonious Monk, Lee Konitz, Sonny Rollins, Modern Jazz Quartet, Charles Earland, Dexter Gordon, Eric Dolphy, and John Coltrane, you're assured the title of the compilation is not an exaggeration. A well-chosen primer collection for the jazz novice and a great sounding disc for completists and jazz fanatics.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/24/2009
Label: Prestige
UPC: 0888072312395
catalogNumber: 31239

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ray Barretto   Conga
Gene Ammons   Tenor Saxophone
Billy Bauer   Guitar
Arnett Cobb   Tenor Saxophone
Miles Davis   Trumpet
Eric Dolphy   Alto Saxophone
Kenny Dorham   Trumpet
Charles Earland   Organ
Tommy Flanagan   Piano
Red Garland   Piano
Dexter Gordon   Tenor Saxophone
Barry Harris   Piano
Milt Jackson   Vibes
Philly Joe Jones   Drums
Rahsaan Roland Kirk   Tenor Saxophone,Manzello,Siren
Lee Konitz   Alto Saxophone
Shelly Manne   Drums
Pat Martino   Guitar
Oliver Nelson   Tenor Saxophone
Houston Person   Tenor Saxophone
Bud Powell   Piano
Max Roach   Drums
Sonny Rollins   Tenor Saxophone
Horace Silver   Piano
Sonny Stitt   Tenor Saxophone
Buddy Tate   Tenor Saxophone
Lennie Tristano   Piano
Stanley Turrentine   Tenor Saxophone
Doug Watkins   Bass
Richard Wyands   Piano
Thore Swanerud   Piano
Trudy Pitts   Organ
Coleman Hawkins   Tenor Saxophone
Grassella Oliphant   Drums
Melvin Sparks   Guitar
Percy Heath   Bass
George Duvivier   Bass
Yusef Lateef   Flute
Vance Anderson   Bongos
Joe Benjamin   Bass
Art Blakey   Drums
Kenny Burrell   Guitar
Jaki Byard   Piano
Buddy Caldwell   Conga
Kenny Clarke   Drums
John Coltrane   Tenor Saxophone
Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis   Tenor Saxophone
Arthur Edgehill   Drums
Gene Edwards   Guitar
Ernie Farrow   Bass,Rabat
Roy Haynes   Drums
Albert "Tootie" Heath   Drums
Freddie Hubbard   Trumpet
Richard "Groove" Holmes   Organ
Lex Humphries   Drums
Idris Muhammad   Drums
Virgil Jones   Trumpet
Earl May   Bass
Jack McDuff   Hammond Organ
Thelonious Monk   Piano
Jack Noren   Drums
Curly Russell   Bass
Buster Williams   Bass
Jimmie Smith   Drums
Mitch Fine   Drums
Abdu Johnson   Conga
Arnold Fishkind   Bass
Yngve Akerberg   Bass
Leppe Sundevall   Trumpet
John G. Lewis   Piano
Richard Allen Williams M.D.   Trumpet
Andy Taylor   Drums

Technical Credits

Gene Ammons   Composer
Eric Dolphy   Composer
Kenny Dorham   Composer
Red Garland   Composer
Dexter Gordon   Composer
Rahsaan Roland Kirk   Composer
Lee Konitz   Composer
John Lewis   Composer
Pat Martino   Composer
Oliver Nelson   Composer
Sonny Rollins   Composer
Sonny Stitt   Photo Courtesy
Stanley Turrentine   Composer
Vincent Youmans   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Jerome Kern   Composer
Yusef Lateef   Composer
Frank Loesser   Composer
Johnny Burke   Composer
Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis   Composer
Esmond Edwards   Composer
Dorothy Fields   Composer
Rudy Van Gelder   Engineer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Thelonious Monk   Composer
Nick Phillips   Liner Notes
Cole Porter   Composer
Pat Upton   Composer
Chuck Stewart   Cover Photo
Larissa Collins   Art Direction
Roland Kirk   Composer
Patrick Upton   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews