The Victors

The Victors

by Max Hennessy

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Martin Falconer had one big anxiety: would they let him fly again?

Grounded in England at the beginning of 1918, it was a struggle, for escaped prisoners of war weren’t generally allowed to return to the front, but Martin pestered the authorities and, at last, found himself back in France.

But the character of the war was changing. Everyone had suddenly become efficiency-conscious, and the freedom of choice which he had valued so much in his life as a pilot was disappearing. Martin had to settle down to the grim, monotonous business that aerial warfare had now become.

It was work that took a terrible toll on the nerves, even of someone as young and strong as he was. He longed to be able to solve the problem, and for the war to be over, so that he could start to find out what he really wanted from life.

A gripping story, totally convincing in its portrayal of the ordeals and rewards of flying in the First World War, for fans of Alexander Fullerton and W. E. Johns.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781800320802
Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 07/22/2020
Series: The Martin Falconer Thrillers , #3
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 710,202
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Max Hennessy was the pen-name of John Harris. He had a wide variety of jobs from sailor to cartoonist and became a highly inventive, versatile writer. In addition to crime fiction, Hennessy was a master of the war novel and drew heavily on his experiences in both the navy and air force, serving in the Second World War. His novels reflect the reality of war mixed with a heavy dose of conflict and adventure.

Customer Reviews