The Warner Bros. Years 1969-1972

The Warner Bros. Years 1969-1972

by Herbie HancockHerbie Hancock


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Herbie Hancock's three albums for Warner Bros have been compiled before, most notably in Mwandishi: The Complete Warner Bros. Recordings in 1994. The individual titles have been reissued in various editions and formats since that time. There are several things that separate this volume (issued by Rhino) from its predecessor. The first is the package. The clamshell case contains each disc in its own cardboard sleeve with original artwork. It also contains a lengthy essay by Bob Gluck, author of You'll Know When You Get There: Herbie Hancock & the Mwandishi Band. This set compiles not only the recordings proper, but also alternate takes, promo edits -- both Mwandishi and Crossings contained three long tracks each -- and a bonus track. Fat Albert Rotunda -- developed from a handful of tracks cut for Bill Cosby's Fat Albert cartoon show -- contains alternates of "Wiggle Waggle" and "Fat Mama." Issued in 1969, this funky soul-jazz session featured saxophonist Joe Henderson, trumpeter Johnny Coles, trombonist Garnett Brown, bassist Buster Williams, and Albert "Tootie" Heath on drums in the main group, with trumpeter Joe Newman, saxophonist Joe Farrell, guitarist Eric Gale, and drummer Bernard Purdie guesting on several cuts. Disc two is the Mwandishi Band proper on its self-titled debut from 1970: only Williams and Hancock return from the previous date, joined by Bennie Maupin on reeds and winds, trumpeter Eddie Henderson, trombonist Julian Priester, and drummer Billy Hart. Various guitarists -- including Ronnie Montrose and Leon "Ndugu" Chancler -- also guest. This disc includes promo edits for "Ostinato (Suite for Angela)" and "You'll Know When You Get There" as bonus cuts. Crossings, issued in 1972, added a further bandmember in synth player Dr. Patrick Gleeson -- originally intended as a sideman, Hancock was so impressed with his contributions he asked him to join, though he only remained for this recording. The bonus material features the heavily edited (though no less hip) single version of "Water Torture" and the set's treasure piece: the rare, non-album promo single "Crossings," a spacy, funky groover that revealed the future direction of the band which would record Sextant for Columbia a year later. This is the first time the bonus material from Mwandishi and Crossings has been made available. While Fat Albert Rotunda is a blast in terms of its groove quotient, the final two recordings, with their more complex, dissonant, and open explorations, are essential not only for any Hancock fan, but for lovers of '70s electric jazz. The recordings are still the most under-celebrated classics in the artist's catalog.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2014
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227959043
catalogNumber: 542172

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Herbie Hancock   Primary Artist,Percussion,Piano,Conductor,Electric Piano,Mellotron,fender rhodes,Group Member
Ronnie Montrose   Guitar
Johnny Coles   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Billy Hart   Percussion,Drums,Group Member
Joe Henderson   Alto Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Bennie Maupin   Percussion,Bass Clarinet,Alto Flute,Piccolo,Soprano Saxophone,Group Member
Joe Newman   Trumpet
Julian Priester   Bass,Percussion,Trombone,Alto Trombone,Tenor Trombone,Group Member
Eddie Henderson   Percussion,Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Group Member
Scott Beach   Vocals
Garnett Brown   Trombone
Victor Domagalski   Vocals
Joe Farrell   Tenor Saxophone
Eric Gale   Guitar
Patrick Gleeson   Moog Synthesizer
Albert "Tootie" Heath   Drums
Delta Horne   Vocals
Candy Love   Vocals
Victor Pontoja   Conga
Sandra Stevens   Vocals
Buster Williams   Bass,Percussion,Electric Bass,Acoustic Bass,Group Member
Bernard Purdie   Drums
Jose "Cepito" Areas   Conga,Timbales
Leon Chansler   Percussion,Drums

Technical Credits

Herbie Hancock   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Bennie Maupin   Composer
Julian Priester   Composer
Fred Catero   Engineer,Remixing
Rudy Van Gelder   Engineer
Patrick Gleeson   Engineer
David Rubinson   Producer,Remixing
Ed Thrasher   Art Direction
Bonnie Schiffman   Cover Art,Cover Photo
Jean-Luke Epstein   Artwork
Rob Springett   Cover Painting
Robin Mitchell   Cover Art
Bob Gluck   Liner Notes
Florence Halfon   Producer
Edmund Shea   Back Cover Photo
Jerry Zatkin   Remixing
Peter A. Redstone   Liner Notes
Lee Weisel   Executive Producer
Anne Foreman   Inside Photo

Customer Reviews