The Waterfall

The Waterfall

by My Morning JacketMy Morning Jacket


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


My Morning Jacket's eclecticism has long been one of their strong suits, and their sonic wanderlust continues on their seventh studio album, The Waterfall. Jim James and his bandmates have followed a lot of different stylistic paths since they made their debut at the end of the '90s, and the polished, prog-laced classic rock sound of "Believe (Nobody Knows)" and the sleek mix of soft rock and Euro-disco on "Compound Fracture" are both effective and sterling examples of stuff MMJ couldn't have pulled off in their early days. At the same time, My Morning Jacket take a more easygoing route on The Waterfall, with songs like "Thin Line" and "Tropics (Erase Traces)" slipping into a comfortable midtempo drift that plays like the sound of a Sunday afternoon. In many respects, the album's simplest and most emotionally direct song, "Get the Point," is also the best, sounding honest and straight from the heart, and reflecting this band's past and present with equal resonance. On The Waterfall, My Morning Jacket look for new paths musically, following their muse as they did on Evil Urges and Circuital, as well as looking within themselves, and the tight but comfortable give and take between the musicians and Tucker Martine's clear, strong production is certain to please fans of this singular American band.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/04/2015
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0602547191939
catalogNumber: 002271902

Album Credits

Performance Credits

My Morning Jacket   Primary Artist
Tucker Martine   Percussion
Jim James   Group Member
Carl Broemel   Group Member
Bo Koster   Group Member
Patrick Hallahan   Group Member
Anna Fritz   Strings,Background Vocals
Merrill Garbus   Background Vocals
Tom Blankenship   Group Member
Kyleen King   Strings,Background Vocals
Brittany Howard   Background Vocals
Patti King   Strings,Background Vocals
Michael Finn   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Tucker Martine   Producer,Engineer
Kevin Ratterman   Engineer
Jim James   Composer,Producer,Artwork
Danny Cash   Layout
Neil Krug   Artwork
Dan Wilson   Composer

Customer Reviews