The Wild Birds: Six Stories of the Port William Membership

The Wild Birds: Six Stories of the Port William Membership

by Wendell Berry


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


"Berry is a superb writer. His sense of what makes characters tick is extraordinary . . . Short stories don't get any better than these." —People

As part of Counterpoint's celebration of beloved American author Wendell Berry comes this reissue of his 1986 classic, The Wild Birds: Six Stories of the Port William Membership. Those stories include "Thicker Than Liquor", "Where Did They Go?", "It Wasn't Me", "The Boundary", "That Distant Land", and the titular "The Wild Birds."

Spanning more than three decades, from 1930 to 1967, these wonderful stories follow Wheeler Catlett, and reintroduce readers to the beloved people who live in Berry's fictional town of Port William, Kentucky.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781640092105
Publisher: Counterpoint Press
Publication date: 05/14/2019
Pages: 176
Sales rank: 571,800
Product dimensions: 4.90(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

WENDELL BERRY, an essayist, novelist, and poet. In 2010, he was awarded the National Humanities Medal by President Barack Obama, and in 2016, he was the recipient of the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Book Critics Circle. Berry lives with his wife, Tanya Berry, on their farm in Henry County, Kentucky.

Table of Contents

1. Thicker Than Liquor (1930)

2. Where Did They Go? (1947)

3. It Wasn't Me (1953)

4. The Boundary (1965)

5. That Distant Land (1965)

6. The Wild Birds (1967)

Customer Reviews