The Wolverine [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

The Wolverine [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

by Marco Beltrami
4 New & Used Starting at $2.00


The Wolverine was one of the blockbuster releases of the summer of 2013, with a $125-million budget and a Japan-oriented plot of the kind that so often seems aimed at capturing overseas revenue. The Wolverine character is a spinoff from the X-Men series of action films, which at the time of the release of The Wolverine numbered half a dozen, with more in the works. American composer Marco Beltrami, although he had as yet had no direct connection with the series, was a relevant choice: he had previously worked with director James Mangold (on 3:10 to Yuma), and he had a long history in horror and related genres. Beltrami draws on the latter vocabulary in this moody score, which favors dark psychological tension over kinetic action scenes and often pushes the dissonance content of cinematic orchestral music close to its limits. Beltrami cleverly runs counter to expectations in another way as well, acknowledging the film's samurai themes with some Japanese flute passages and taiko drum sounds, but keeping them largely in the background. The music is mostly devoted to the states of mind of the mutant Wolverine. With the filmmakers backing an ambitious score for large orchestra by a composer who appears to be hitting his creative peak, this is a worthwhile pick for film music fans in general, as well as those brought to it by the brooding Wolverine himself.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/23/2013
Label: Sony Classics
UPC: 0888837298025
catalogNumber: 194168

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Marco Beltrami   Primary Artist,Conductor
Bruce Dukov   Violin
Rick Baptist   Trumpet
William Booth   Trombone
Darius Campo   Violin
Wade Culbreath   Percussion
Brian Dembow   Viola
Samantha Duckworth   Bassoon
Stephen Erdody   Cello
Alan Estes   Percussion
Julie Gigante   Violin
Endre Granat   Violin
Lili Haydn   Violin
Paula Hochhalter   Cello
Alan Kaplan   Trombone
Dennis Karmazyn   Cello
Roland Kato   Viola
June Kuramoto   Koto
Dimitrie Leivici   Violin
Edward Meares   Bass
Tommy Morgan   Harmonica
Bruce Morgenthaler   Bass
Maria Newman   Viola
Helen Nightengale   Violin
Barry Perkins   Trumpet
Brian Pezzone   Keyboards
Katia Popov   Violin
Mark Robertson   Violin
Jay Rosen   Violin
Geri Rotella   Flute
Bart Samolis   Bass
Kim Scholes   Cello
Doug Tornquist   Tuba,Cimbasso
Cecilia Tsan   Cello
Josefina Vergara   Violin
Doug Webb   Tuba
Roger Wilkie   Violin
Marcia Dickstein   Harp
Daniel Kelley   Horn
Christina Soule   Cello
Donald Williams   Percussion
Drew Dembowski   Bass
Lisa Sutton   Violin
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Trombone
Natalie Leggett   Violin
Gary Bovyer   Clarinet
Christian Kollgaard   Bass
Timothy Landauer   Cello
Rafael Rishik   Violin
Pete Anthony   Conductor
Jennie Hansen   Viola
Nico Abondolo   Bass
Chris Bleth   Woodwind
Shawn Mann   Viola
Darrin McCann   Viola
David Washburn   Trumpet
Irina Voloshina   Violin
Roberto Cani   Violin
Rose Corrigan   Bassoon
Michael Valerio   Bass
Andrew Schulman   Cello
Timothy Loo   Cello
Caroline Campbell   Violin
Sarah Thornblade   Violin
Ralph Williams   Clarinet
Aimee Kreston   Violin
Gregory Goodall   Percussion
Dave Walther   Viola
Shalini Vijayan   Violin
Elizabeth Hedman   Violin
Jenny Kim   Horn
Andrew Duckles   Viola
Craig Gosnell   Trombone
Belinda Broughton   Violin,Concert Master
Lisa Liu   Violin
Scott Hosfeld   Viola
Lorand Lokuszta   Violin
Tereza Stanislav   Violin
Radu Pieptea   Violin
Serena McKinney   Violin
Mark Adams   Horn
Robert Schaer   Trumpet
Pamela Jacobson   Viola
Robert Brophy   Viola
Stephen Dress   Bass
Armen Ksajikian   Cello
Charlie Besharat   Violin
Steven Schaeffer   Percussion
Steven Holtman   Trombone
Victoria Miskolczy   Violin
James Thatcher   Horn
Erika Duke-Kirkpatrick   Cello
Phillip Levy   Violin
Kenneth Munday   Bassoon
Amy Hershberger   Violin
Marc Sazer   Violin
Steven Becknell   Horn
Tamara Hatwan   Violin
Dave Everson   Horn
Matthew Funes   Viola
Jon Lewis   Trumpet
Sarah Parkins   Violin
Jeanne Skrocki   Violin
Sara Andon   Flute
M.B. Gordy   Percussion
Eric Rynearson   Viola
Kevin Connolly   Violin
Jessica E. Guideri   Violin
Steven Zander   Violin
Giampiero Ambrosi   Koto
Dylan Hart   Horn
Laura Brenes   Horn
Andrew Bain   Horn
Patricia Garvey   Cello
Evgeny Tonkha   Cello
Geoffrey Osika   Bass

Technical Credits

John Kurlander   Engineering
Tom Steel   Stage Manager
Tim Lauber   Engineering
Patrick Russ   Score Orchestration
Tom Cavanaugh   Music Business Affairs
Marc Gebauer   Engineer
Pete Anthony   Score Orchestration
Jon Kull   Score Orchestration
Marco Beltrami   Composer
Christine Sirois   Stage Manager
James Mangold   Executive Soundtrack Producer
Buck Sanders   Additional Music
Marcus Trumpp   Additional Music
Dana Niu   Score Orchestration
Mark Graham   Score Orchestration
Mark Cavell   Licensing
Brandon Roberts   Additional Music
Rossano Galante   Score Orchestration
Isabelle Tulliez   Product Development

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews