The Wreck of the Archangel

The Wreck of the Archangel



View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This book represents one of the finest collection of poems by the great Scottish poet, George Mackay Brown, who died in 1996.
Mackay Brown won the Saltire Scottish Book of the Year Award for 1994, the year he was also shortlisted for the Booker Prize for "Beside the Ocean of Time".

Nobel Laureate Seamus Heaney had this to say about Mackay Brown:

"Since the beginning of his career he has added uniquely and steadfastly to the riches of poetry in English.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781896209241
Publisher: Bayeux Arts, Incorporated
Publication date: 11/28/1998
Edition description: FIRST
Pages: 56
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

George Mackay Brown was a Scottish poet, author and dramatist, whose work has a distinctly Orcadian character. He is considered one of the great Scottish poets of the 20th century.

He studied at the University of Edinburgh and lived most of his life in Stromness, Orkney Islands. He died in Stromness in 1996. This is his last collection of poems.

Customer Reviews