These Foolish Things

These Foolish Things

by Bryan Ferry


$37.04 $38.99 Save 5% Current price is $37.04, Original price is $38.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 22


Roxy Music, perhaps the smartest of the early '70s British glam-rock bands, comprised two powerful personalities, Bryan Ferry and Brian Eno, who collaborated as intensely as they clashed. Both had ideas and ambitions too big for a single band, however, and Eno departed after two albums for a solo career as an eccentric artiste, while Ferry continued to front a more progressive-rock-styled Roxy Music and make solo records that pursued the archest attitudes of Roxy's brash early work. THESE FOOLISH THINGS is Ferry's audacious solo debut, and it is an unusual compendium of covers. The infallibly stylish Ferry -- who includes clothes, hair, and makeup credits in his production notes -- has the temerity to blithely interpret serious rock classics ("A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall" and "Sympathy for the Devil") alongside some of pop's sweetest and silliest ("It's My Party" and "I Love How You Love Me"). This was a far more subversive attack on the rock status quo than going onstage in sparkly clothes and makeup; Ferry was challenging a hip audience to reconsider what was cool. More conceptual art than mere camp, this album is a hilarious romp and a blueprint for many retro-looking, forward-thinking artists to come, including modern Brit-poppers like Blur and Pulp.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/13/2008
Label: Virgin Japan
UPC: 4988006857209
catalogNumber: 68812
Rank: 156189

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bryan Ferry   Primary Artist,Harmonica,Piano,Vocals
Eddie Jobson   Synthesizer,Violin,Keyboards
Phil Manzanera   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Henry Lowther   Trumpet,Horn
Jesse Ed Davis   Vocals,Background Vocals
Angelettes   Vocals,Background Vocals
Roger Ball   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Bass Saxophone
Malcolm Duncan   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Robbie Montgomery   Vocals,Background Vocals
Ruan O'Lochlainn   Alto,Saxophone
John Porter   Bass,Guitar
John Punter   Drums
Dave Skinner   Piano
Paul Thompson   Drums

Technical Credits

Bryan Ferry   Producer
Roger Ball   Producer,Horn Arrangements
Malcolm Duncan   Producer
Steve Nye   Engineer
John Porter   Producer
John Punter   Producer,Engineer
Nicholas Deville   Cover Design
Harry Link   Composer
Jack Strachey   Composer
Holt Marvell   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews