The Thirteenth Skull (Alfred Kropp Series #3)

The Thirteenth Skull (Alfred Kropp Series #3)

by Rick Yancey

Paperback

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Overview

Before The 5th Wave, there was Alfred Kropp. This third book in Rick Yancey's lauded series was called "perfect" by Rick Riordan, and James Patterson said that the "action is fast, furious, and nonstop--and so is the fun." Now the books feature a bold and exciting new look for the next generation of readers to fall in love with.

Alfred Kropp thought he was finally safe, but he was wrong. Not only is someone out to kill Alfred, but the very people sworn to protect him now want to use him and his abilities for deadly means. And if Alfred isn't careful, he may not be getting out of this adventure alive . . .

Just right for fans of James Patterson and Anthony Horowitz, the third book in this acclaimed series from New York Times bestselling author Rick Yancey brings all the thrills, action, and humor to a rewarding close.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781619639188
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 12/01/2015
Series: Alfred Kropp Series , #3
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 479,094
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Rick Yancey is the author of The 5th Wave and The Infinite Sea, the first two books in this series. His debut young-adult novel, The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp, was a finalist for the Carnegie Medal. In 2010, his novel The Monstrumologist received the Michael L. Printz Honor, and the sequel, The Curse of the Wendigo, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. When he isn't writing or thinking about writing or traveling the country talking about writing, Rick is hanging out with his family.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Thirteenth Skull 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I had never read one of these books. I had to read it for school and i was not very happy. It did not instently pull me in, but once i read a cupple chapters or so i was hooked. Some day i might read the first two, but for now this is enuff. Every one should read it is one of the best books i have read. If you do not beleave me or if you do you should read it. You wont be sorry and you'll want to keep on reading it. Hoping you can stay in all day and read. Yes it is that good and im not a big science fiction fan. But i just love this wonderfull book
SpartanReading More than 1 year ago
I gave The Thirteenth Skull 4.5 out of 5 stars. This book was full of action and it would keep you at the edge of your seat at the end of each chapter. The book also had good description and a great plot. In this book there is a 15 year old teen named Alfred Kropp who has extraordinary powers from heaven to heal people. He murders the father of Jourdain Garmot, the head of a powerful company called Tintagel International and Alfred is now being pursued by them. He acquires the safety of another company called OIPEP who want to keep him safe for an “experiment” and they put Alfred in a secure location in the Canadian Rockies. Alfred escapes the facility and is now being pursued by two companies. Alfred has to use cunning and help from a few people to escape this situation. I would recommend this book to guys who like a lot of action. I get this because on pages 17 to 22 there is a very action-packed car chase that has explosions, gunfire, and deaths. Also, on pages 91 to 102, there is a rescue that includes smoke, tear gas, explosions, and another chase with just as much action as the other one. I don’t believe girls would like a book full of blood and gunfire as much as guys would.
Anonymous 10 days ago
enjoyed the whole series, am glad RIC left an opening for yet another Alfred kropp story.
BrynDahlquis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Started out pretty strong and exciting, but the more it went on, the more it was revealed that really it was just Alfred wandering around trying to figure out what's going on, and it ends up that not much IS going on. There really is no ultimate goal, no ultimate end-of-the-world situation that Alfred can fix, just a bunch of running around from stupid jerks who want to kill him for various reasons. For a few moments at the end, it looked like it was going to be a fabulous conclusion to a trilogy containing one fabulous book (Seal of Solomon). But then there was an epilogue. So it's just a pretty good ending to a trilogy containing one pretty good book (Extraordinary Adventures). It gets extra points because Rick Yancey can write ambling-around-aimlessly surprisingly well, and Alfred Kropp is still a cool character even if the plot is lacking.
KarenBall on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Third in the series, and Rick Yancey's getting better and better! Alex Rider fans should pick up this series -- Thirteenth Skull will be right up their alleys. Car chases, explosions, escapes from remote mountain fortresses, mystery, you name it, it's here. Alfred's being targeted by a new enemy, and those who are supposedly sworn to protect him may actually be putting him in harm's way -- but why? Alfred escapes one harrowing situation only to be faced with another and another as he follows the trail of clues about the thirteenth skull. I like the writing in this one best out of the three so far -- Yancey adds just the right balance of humor to the action, and that makes it fun to read:" Then Delivery Dude was on me. I saw a flash of metal. The blade in his hand was at least a foot long, tapered, thin... First, I had to neutralize the knife: one of my long-term goals was never to be stabbed to death again."Though it helps to have read the other two books, like Horowitz's Alex Rider series, it's not crucial since the author gives you plenty of backstory clues to keep you up to speed. 6th grade and up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh, how wrong you are. Go read the Monstrumologist (also by Yancy) and remember that not all girls are vain, vapid, shallow, petty, stupid, conniving backstabbers. Thank you. --Tomboys of the World
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved all of them and this one is the BEST one.Edge of your seat action.The story starts out in a BANG and ends in a BANG!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book, and wow...Best book ive ever read. It made me cry twice, made me laugh a few times, and made me mad. Expect alot of betrayals and the such. BUY THIS BOOK!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is the best book I will ever read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is the best book I ever read in a long time. I strongly recomend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is ok
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Meeting Alfred Kropp in THE EXTRAORDINARY ADVENTURES OF ALFRED KROPP really was extraordinary! Then I eagerly read THE SEAL OF SOLOMON, wondering what could surpass the thrill of Alfred first stealing, then losing, and then recovering Excalibur, King Arthur's sword. The author, Rick Yancey, didn't let the reader down. Alfred was forced to fight demons! So, naturally, I couldn't wait to read THE THIRTEENTH SKULL!

I've rated this book Grades 6+, as I have his first two titles, but with a caveat. Mr. Yancey pulls no punches when describing the violence and clear danger Alfred faces. I do not doubt that younger readers will devour the Alfred Kropp books, but parents will want to use their discretion.

Mr. Yancey doesn't even let the reader get good and comfy in their favorite reading chair before relentlessly yanking them to the proverbial edge of their seat. The first chapter starts with a bang - literally. A truck blows up beneath Alfred's new penthouse suite window, on the 30th floor of Samson Towers. In short order, one man is shot and Alfred is fighting for his life with his attacker. Soon the two are racing to the ground floor, one by express elevator, the other by parachute. And Mr. Yancey's not done yet. There's still a police car to commandeer, complete with the surprised officer at the wheel, a car chase through city streets, and yet another explosion.

Once again Alfred is sucked back into the OIPEP. But can he trust the new Operative Nine? What about the beautiful new field agent? And who is trying to kill Alfred, and more importantly, why?

First it was Excalibur, then the Seal of Solomon. Both times he nearly lost his life. Now it's the Thirteenth Skull. Alfred knows that this time it will be different. Samuel, the former Operative Nine and now Alfred's guardian, is not reassuring. Alfred must find out what the Thirteenth Skull is. The clock is ticking and Alfred knows his time is about up.

I absolutely will not tell you more. You MUST, MUST, MUST go buy THE THIRTEENTH SKULL. But only after you buy and read his first two titles, as this series is best read in order. Mr. Yancey has created a cast of characters equal to the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz. I can't wait to see Alfred Kropp's adventures on the big screen!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey im sort of in it!!