This Song Is for You

This Song Is for You

by Ronald IsleyRonald Isley




On his first album since 2010's Mr. I, Ronald Isley links with the eOne label and reconnects with Troy Taylor, one of the producers who worked on the Isley Brothers' 2006 album Baby Makin' Music. Taylor is involved with 11 of the 13 songs, most of which are relaxed contemporary ballads, solid and enjoyable. Some of them either directly reference or evoke decades-old Isley Brothers hits, such as the "Between the Sheets" rewrite "Another Night" and the "Journey to Atlantis"-echoing "Make Love to Your Soul," the latter of which is punctuated with Ernie Isley-inspired guitar work from Patrick Hayes. Taylor brings Trey Songz along for the duet "Lay You Down," but background vocalist Muhammad Ayers, who even sings some of the hooks, is heard enough to justify co-billing. Kem and Bryan Michael Cox drive the other two songs. "My Favorite Thing" is more like a Kem song featuring Isley -- who sings of social-media interaction prior to proclaiming "got a brother waitin' by the phone" -- than the other way around. Cox, Johnta Austin, and Kendrick Dean cook up "Let's Be Alone," one of the album's more attention-grabbing productions.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/16/2013
Label: Ent. One Music
UPC: 0099923246329
catalogNumber: 2463

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ronald Isley   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Bryan-Michael Cox   Synthesizer,Bass,Piano,Drums
Patrick "Guitarboy" Hayes   Guitar
Kendrick Dean   Synthesizer,Piano,Strings
Isaiah Sharkey   Guitar
Kandy Isley   Background Vocals
Muhammad Ayers   Background Vocals
Jonz   Keyboards
Adonis Shropshire   Background Vocals
Bruce Robinson   Guitar
Terrance "Weedie" Minor   Bass

Technical Credits

Ernie Isley   Composer
Chris Jasper   Composer
Marvin Isley   Composer
O'Kelly Isley   Composer
Ronald Isley   Composer,Executive Producer
Rudolph Isley   Composer
Eric Morgeson   Engineer
Troy Taylor   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Executive Producer,Vocal Producer
Eric Peterson   Engineer
Bryan-Michael Cox   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Patrick "Guitarboy" Hayes   Composer,Producer
Hart Gunther   Engineer
Kendrick Dean   Arranger,Programming,Producer
Clifford Henson   Programming,Pro-Tools
Hanif Sumner   Publicity
Giovanna Melchiorre   Publicity
Ira Dewitt   Executive Producer
John McGee   Producer
Tremaine Neverson   Composer
Victor Morante   Production Director
Sean Marlowe   Art Direction
Michael "Mo" Lapierre   Engineer
Courtney Barnes   Publicity
Jerren Spruill   Producer
Danielle Brimm   Producer
Jordan "Infinity" Suecof   Producer
Jason Cathey   Producer

Customer Reviews