Three Kings

Three Kings



Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 2


In 2007, Tyrese, Ginuwine, and Tank -- singers who have well over a dozen Top Ten R&B albums between them -- worked on a remix of Tank's "Please Don't Go" and then appeared on a Slim Thug track. Restrictive industry logistics prevented the group from moving forward. Several years later, the trio signed with Atlantic to make the satisfactory Three Kings, an hourlong affair that doesn't deviate much from any of the men's recent solo work. They're mature enough to admit imperfections and plead for forgiveness, yet they're not above being as over-the-top salacious as singers half their age. Tank is the most accomplished songwriter of the three -- he penned "One" for Tyrese and "Heaven" for Ginuwine -- so it's unsurprising that he contributed the most to the songwriting process. He either wrote or co-wrote eight of the songs, while Ginuwine took part in four songs and Tyrese had a hand in two -- four if interludes are counted. The most notable aspect of the album is that it was released by an R&B group. A close second is that it required well over 20 additional songwriters -- north of 30 if sample credits are factored in -- to be made. It's heavy on slow jams and ballads, drawing from elder leaders of the form, such as the Isley Brothers, Roger Troutman, and R. Kelly. Some of the songs are as strong as anything from the members' 2010s solo work, but not much truly stands out. Opener "Take It Wrong," for instance, resembles a rewrite of Chris Brown's "Take My Time" (which happened to feature Tank in a non-writing role). The Tank-led "Explode" slithers like his "Compliments," but it's nonetheless a highlight, as are "I Need" and "Next Time Around" -- songs where the trio members sound like they weren't thrown together merely for the sake of standing out in a field that consists almost exclusively of solo artists.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/20/2013
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678683916
catalogNumber: 536421
Rank: 67761

Album Credits

Performance Credits

TGT   Primary Artist
Andrew Hey   Guitar
Agape Jerry   Guitar
Javad Day   Keyboards
Miguel Jiminez   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Luther Campbell   Composer
Harry Wayne "K.C." Casey   Composer
Marcus James   Composer
Tim Kelley   Composer
Damon Thomas   Composer,Producer
Eric Dawkins   Composer
Ginuwine   Executive Producer
Andre Young   Composer
Elgin Lumpkin   Composer
Harvey Mason   Composer,Producer,Vocal Producer
Tyrese   Executive Producer
Calvin Broadus   Composer
Ricardo Brown   Composer
Andrew Hey   Composer,Engineer
Serge Tsai   Engineer
Robert Newt   Composer
Richard Furch   Engineer
Nathaniel Hale   Composer
Ivan "Orthodox" Barias   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Carvin "Ransum" Haggins   Producer
Michael Daley   Basic Track
Michael "Blue" Williams   Management
Ashaunna Ayars   Marketing
Mark Obriski   Art Direction
Marcus Hodge   Producer
Warren Griffin   Composer
Kristal "Tytewriter" Oliver   Composer
Tim & Bob   Producer
Carolyn Tracey   Package Production
David Boyd   Engineer,Basic Track
Mansur Zafr   drum programming
Dominique Logan   Composer,Producer
Darius Logan   Composer,Producer
Aaron Sledge   Composer
Lonny Bereal   Composer
Javad Day   Composer,Producer
Steven Jordan   Composer
Tyrese Gibson   Composer,Producer
Jaha Johnson   Management
Devin Resnover   Composer
Brandon Hodge   Composer,Instrumentation
Underdogs   Producer,Instrumentation
James "J-Doe" Smith   Composer
Michael Harris   Composer
Isabella Castro   Management
Bob Robinson   Composer
Javonte Pollard   Composer
Kenyon Dixon   Composer
Lakeisha Orange   Management
Jay Valentine   Composer
Jason Marin   Composer
Fabbien Nahouwou   Producer
Eric Dennison   Engineer
Don City   Composer
Asaleane Elliott   Composer
Rich Finch   Composer
Brandon "B.A.M." Hodge   Composer,Instrumentation

Customer Reviews