Tissues and Issues

Tissues and Issues

by Charlotte ChurchCharlotte Church


$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.


Whatever happened to the little girl with the voice of an angel? Well, Charlotte Church, like everyone else, grew up and decided to move from her comfort zone of angelic soprano albums in the supposed classical area (although her product had always been aimed at the pop charts), leaving behind Voice of an Angel, Charlotte Church, and Dream a Dream and entering a crowded female pop field already inhabited by the likes of Kelly Clarkson and Girls Aloud. The first two tracks, the disco-funk-oriented "Call My Name" and "Crazy Chick," both became Top Ten singles, with the Boy George-composed ballad "Even God Can't Change the Past" and "Moodswings" not far behind. She even tried her hand at songwriting, albeit with proven successful writers as collaborators: Guy Chambers, who had worked extensively with Robbie Williams, on the pumping disco track "Let's Be Alone," the Spanish-style ethereal ballad "Casualty of Love" (on which she got an opportunity to show that her soprano voice is still intact), and the final track, "Confessional Song"; Rob Davis on the aptly titled "Easy to Forget" (which unfortunately is not a patch on another of his songs); Kylie Minogue's "Can't Get You Out of My Head"; and Gary Barlow on the midtempo "Easy Way Out." She sang "Don't you judge me as I leave it all behind, I was the victim" on the track "Fool No More," and one wonders if that was Church's attempt to explain the complete change of musical direction. As a little girl, she had no choice about the type of material she recorded, but here she grabbed the adult mantle with both hands, and smooth pop-soul would be the future for a singer who was not such a little girl any more.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/04/2005
Label: Sony/Bmg Int'l
UPC: 5099752034628
catalogNumber: 520346

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Charlotte Church   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Adrian Smith   Viola
Tracie Ackerman   Background Vocals
John Beck   fender rhodes
Guy Chambers   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Bass Guitar,Keyboards
Pete Davis   Drums,Keyboards
Martin Ditcham   Percussion
Lucy Wilkins   Violin,Soloist
Gavyn Wright   Lead
Simon Hale   Piano,Conductor
Jesse Cook   spanish guitar
Peter Lindgard   Trumpet
Dave McCracken   Bass,Drums,Keyboards
Graham Stack   Guitar,Drums,Keyboards
Tore Johansson   Bass,Guitar
Sven Andersson   Saxophone
Rasmus Kihlberg   Drums
Jens Lindgard   Guitar,Trombone
Wayne Hector   Background Vocals
Yvonne John Lewis   Background Vocals
Filip Runesson   Strings
Eg White   Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Keyboards,Synthesizer Bass
Mark Read   Piano,Keyboards
Frances Dewar   Violin
David Hodges   Piano
Chris Fish   Cello
Rory Faciane   Drums
Steve Chrisanthou   Guitar
Martin Gjerstad   Keyboards
Matt Furmidge   Guitar
Wil Malone   Conductor

Technical Credits

John Beck   Composer
Guy Chambers   Composer,Producer
Marcella Detroit   Composer
Steve Fitzmaurice   Producer
Eliot Kennedy   Composer
Rick Nowels   Composer
Colin Peter   Engineer
Mike Ross-Trevor   Engineer
Fitzgerald Scott   Composer,Producer
John Themis   Composer
Simon Hale   String Arrangements
Graham Stack   Composer,Programming,Producer
Sarah Buras   Composer
Tore Johansson   Producer
Charlotte Church   Composer
Richard Flack   Programming,Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Wayne Hector   Composer
Eg White   Composer,Producer
Gary Miller   Programming
David Carlsson   Engineer
Steve Chrisanthou   Composer,Programming,Producer
Martin Gjerstad   String Arrangements
Wil Malone   String Arrangements

Customer Reviews