Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn: The Complete Adventures - Collection of the 2 novels

Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn: The Complete Adventures - Collection of the 2 novels


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details




In a unique edition, read two masterpieces belonging to the Great American novels:

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (1876) features one of the best-loved characters in American fiction. The novel is redolent of life in the Mississippi River towns in the 19th century, in which Mark Twain spent his own youth. A sombre undercurrent flows through the high humour and unabashed nostalgia of the novel, however, for beneath the innocence of childhood lie the inequities of adult reality - base emotions and superstitions, murder and revenge, starvation and slavery.

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (1885) is the direct sequel to The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. Intended at first as a simple story of a boy's adventures in the Mississippi Valley, the book matured under Twain's hand into a work of immeasurable richness and complexity. The child's ingenuous gaze on the flaws of civilized people feeds the virulent satire of an hypocritical society.

Samuel Langhorne Clemens (1835-1910) was first trained as a steamboat pilot on the Mississippi river - 'Mark Twain', phrase used on riverboats to indicate that the water is two fathoms deep and therefore safe, became the pen name by which he acquired worldwide fame.

Find the other "Great American Novels" in a book series by the editor Atlantic Editions :

The Last of the Mohicans, by James Fenimore Cooper ISBN 978-1523374106

The Scarlet Letter, by Nathaniel Hawthorne ISBN 978-1523374335

Moby-Dick, by Herman Melville ISBN 978-1523822010

Uncle Tom's Cabin, by Harriet Beecher Stowe ISBN 978-1523374045

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781523263820
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 01/06/2016
Pages: 442
Sales rank: 498,294
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.89(d)
Age Range: 11 Years

Customer Reviews