Tooth and Nail: The Making of a Female Fight Doctor

Tooth and Nail: The Making of a Female Fight Doctor

by Linda D. Dahl

Hardcover(Original)

$24.29 $26.99 Save 10% Current price is $24.29, Original price is $26.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, December 17

Overview

“Well-written, compelling, and revealing.”—Ronald Epstein, M.D., author of Attending

A fearless and exhilarating memoir of a surgeon who became one of the first female ringside boxing doctors in New York City, for fans of Judy Melinek, Pauline Chen and Atul Gawande


Fresh out of medical school, Linda Dahl began her surgical residency in the Bronx as a total fish out of water. Growing up in a Middle Eastern family in the American Midwest, she was a born outsider, and in her new community in New York, she felt even more isolated. Even at work she struggled to fit in: among her fellow specialists, she was one of the only women.

One night, at her husband’s urging, Dahl watched a boxing match between Shane Mosley and Oscar De La Hoya. Seeing Mosley survive against the odds gave Dahl hope that she, too, could find her footing. As her fandom grew, boxing became a way to connect with her patients and community. Later, when she was in practice on the Upper East Side, Dahl received a phone call from the New York State Athletic Commission. They were looking for a fight doctor. Dahl accepted.

Tooth and Nail chronicles the years Dahl spent as an ear, nose and throat surgeon by day and a ringside physician by night. Intrepid, adrenaline-fueled and loaded with behind-the-scenes takes on famous boxers, including Mike Tyson, Wladimir Klitschko and Miguel Cotto, Dahl’s story offers a modern examination of sexism, dislocation, the theater of boxing and a road map for how to excel in two very different male-dominated worlds.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781335017475
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Publication date: 07/24/2018
Edition description: Original
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 1,167,978
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Linda D. Dahl is an otolaryngologist in private practice in Manhattan. A native Midwesterner, Dahl received her MD from the University of Minnesota Medical School. She is the author of Clinician’s Guide to Breastfeeding.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Tooth and Nail: The Making of a Female Fight Doctor 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Linda Dahl’s exciting story takes the reader in-and-out of her personal and professional journey. Dahl is a strong woman, who overcomes obstacles with grace and elegance. I had a hard time putting this book down, as each chapter brought the reader into a different and exhilarating part of her path to accomplishment. What a surprise it was to learn that one of the most renowned ENTs on the East Coast had such a dramatic and exhilarating background. Linda Dahl has written a book that is both inspirational, entertaining, honest and smart. I would highly recommend her memoir to anyone who is looking for an engrossing, and thought-provoking read. Dahl’s kindness, intelligence, grit and glamour, despite the realities of her environments, always shines through.
Katie__B More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars Going into this I was a bit uneasy because while I like reading memoirs, I'm not a big fan of boxing. Thankfully, while her work as a fight doctor for boxing matches is part of the story, you really do not have to know anything about the sport to enjoy the book. Dr. Dahl grew up in North Dakota, the daughter of parents from Syria and Chechnya. Even after completing her residency and living in New York, she still felt like an outsider. Her ex-husband loved watching boxing matches during their marriage and she grew to appreciate the sport. She decides to apply as a fight doctor with the New York State Athletic Commission. An ear, nose, and throat surgeon by day at a private practice, at night she is the only female doctor ringside. She works to find her voice in two very male-dominated worlds. I'm glad I took a chance on this one because this was an enjoyable read. Dr. Dahl shared lots of interesting medical stories from her career as a doctor, both in and out of the ring. The case involving the drunk old man who refused to leave his chair for a year, was crazy and if it hasn't been a plot line on Grey's Anatomy, it should be. There's a good touch of humor used throughout the book and I think it is pretty easy to relate to feeling like an outsider most of the time. I enjoyed reading how Dr. Dahl was able to find that inner voice to help develop some confidence. I think if you love reading memoirs or a fan of women going out and succeeding in male-dominated fields, this is your book! I won a free copy of this book in a giveaway but was under no obligation to post a review. All views expressed are my honest opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Linda Dahl’s exciting story takes the reader in-and-out of her personal and professional journey. Dahl is a strong woman, who overcomes obstacles with grace and elegance. I had a hard time putting this book down, as each chapter brought the reader into a different and exhilarating part of her path to accomplishment. What a surprise it was to learn that one of the most renowned ENTs on the East Coast had such a dramatic and exhilarating background. Linda Dahl has written a book that is both inspirational, entertaining, honest and smart. I would highly recommend her memoir to anyone who is looking for an engrossing, and thought-provoking read. Dahl’s kindness, intelligence, grit and glamour, despite the realities of her environments, always shines through.